Coming Clean

The Sound of Growth and Release

I get the most God-inspired, call to action; get your faith on kind of ideas while washing the dishes. I have to stop mid-rinse, put the dinnerware in the sink, turn the water off, rip off the gloves, and get to paper or my phone to type or write myself a note. I usually return to the sink before the inspiration has run its course and this dance repeats a few times before it is complete. There in the midst of scrubbing and rinsing, I sense that, I am cleansing more than just cups, plates, and silverware but also my mind.

Every day I make God the center of my daily focus, I spend time in His Word and the seed of God takes deep root in my Heart. Nevertheless, throughout the day my mind is bombarded by the world’s look at me, read me, I’m cool check me out attention grabbers. Assaulted. All. Day. Long. Somehow, in the mundane, during the cleansing of mind and dishes, God’s watered seed sprouts forth from my heart and creativity flows…like water. There is something to be said about water – it cleanses, it purifies. There is beauty in purity. Water rinses away the build up, it strips away accumulation, it cleanses. The cleansed surface comes away new, shiny, and refreshed. Perhaps, the process of it all – the restoration and purity – is heard in the sound of running water – the sound of growth and release.

Lord, thank You for Your seed – Your Word – by which my mind is renewed and brought into continual submission. Thank You for water baptism, our appeal to You for a good conscience. Thank you for the baptism of Your indwelling Holy Spirit. We repent of our sin and turn from it. We accept Jesus Christ as our Lord and Savior. Thank you for our restoration and the forgiveness of our sin through the precious blood of Your son, Jesus Christ. Thank you Lord.

 

Ephesians 4:5  One Lord, one faith, one baptism,

1 Peter 3:21  Baptism, which corresponds to this, now saves you, not as a removal of dirt from the body but as an appeal to God for a good conscience, through the resurrection of Jesus Christ,

Matthew 3:11 “I baptize you with water for repentance, but he who is coming after me is mightier than I, whose sandals I am not worthy to carry. He will baptize you with the Holy Spirit and fire.

Acts 22:16  And now why do you wait? Rise and be baptized and wash away your sins, calling on his name.

God Bless,

Jennifer – I Give God all the Glory

I am a daughter of God, a servant of the Lord, a wife to a patient husband, and a mama of two forgiving boys. God has placed these three men in my life needfully so. I thank Him for them everyday. And like so many of the Lord’s children, I am a work-of-glory-in-progress. I am on a journey to reclaim and renew my life in Christ. It took me 34 years to learn that when nothing else works, God does!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Christian Life
17 comments on “Coming Clean
  1. I’m writing to invite you to join the new Bible Gateway Blogger Grid (BG²). If you’d like details, please email me. Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jenn S. says:

    I loved this post! It was so insightful, and poetic! God is so good! He washes us clean, and makes us new! God bless you, Jennifer, and keep it up. Your words are being used to encourage.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your kind, sweet words. I am beyond humbled for the opportunity to praise our awesome God together. Isn’t it funny how God places purposeful thoughts of hope and renewal on our hearts during daily medocrity. I must remind myself to slow down and savor all these precious seconds, or else I might miss all the glorious splendor our Majestic King eagerly provides for us. You’re so right, God is good beloved sister – in the small and in the great – He is so very faithful to His children. I pray He strengthens and upholds your righteous path, that you continue in bold faith toward the calling God has placed on your life, and that you experience His ♥ like never before. God bless you 🙂

      Like

  3. "light and salt" says:

    Interesting how and from where we get our inspirations! I can’t say I’ve experienced an “epiphany” which scrapping a dish clean…but if it works for you, super! 🙂
    The important thing is to keep your “antenna” up and mind on receive so that you can ponder the things of God. Through such things, we grow in many ways…
    God love and guide you today, Jennifer!
    Steve

    Liked by 1 person

    • “I can’t say i’ve ever experienced an “epiphany” while scrapping a dish clean…” I am totally laughing over here! LOL just doesn’t suffice right now. I guess my inspiration does sound pretty funny.

      I ask, seek, and knock all day long to experience His love. I’m totally sold out to Christ and desperately addicted to God – not a bad obsession to have all things considered. 🙂

      Matthew 7:7-8 Ask, and It Will Be Given

      7 “Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you. 8 For everyone who asks receives, and the one who seeks finds, and to the one who knocks it will be opened.

      http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Matthew+7%3A7-8&version=ESV

      God bless you Steve!

      Jennifer – I Give God All The Glory

      Like

      • "light and salt" says:

        Jennifer, I was certainly poking a little “fun.” Hope you don’t mind my dumb sense of humor!
        I respect the way in which you and every good Christian seeks to think on Godly things. And when we do, we often become inspired.
        Some of your remarks have lifted me up in spirit over the past few days. Thank you for that!!
        For those who ask, God will answer, who seek, they will find. And for every knock, the door will be opened…
        God loves those who love Him sincerely, and He has great things in mind for the faithful.
        If you are moved in any way, even while washing dishes, you go for it! God delights in this…
        God’s blessings and love on you, Jennifer!
        Steve 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • I don’t mind at all. You were very funny about it and I was rolling in laughter 🙂 You have very good sense of humor 🙂
        I am honored that God connected us, and humbled that He grants us the capacity to help one another.

        May God’s every blessing be upon you brother!

        God bless Steve!

        Jennifer – I Give God All The Glory

        Like

      • "light and salt" says:

        I especially wish you the same as my new found friend and sister in Christ Jesus! It is so nice to talk and laugh with you…
        Walk with the Lord always, Jennifer…His blessings will come upon you in overflowing amounts!
        Steve 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. "light and salt" says:

    Reblogged this on "light and salt" and commented:
    Jennifer is an honest lover of God’s power to save souls! Read more about her…

    Like

    • Steve,

      God-given wisdom! I enjoyed writing this post and appreciate you sharing it! What does Divine revelation and doing the dishes have in common – they both cleanse!

      Lord, cleanse me (mind, heart & Spirit) of anything not You. Lord, grant me revelation of what is taking Your place in my life and grant me the strength to release it, in the powerful name of Jesus!

      God bless you.

      Jennifer – I Give God All The Glory

      Like

Leave a Reply

