When He Found Me

I was spiraling out of control.

I was in desperate need of help and had been for many years.

I ran far from God, far, so far.

I filled my soul with every empty promise I could get my selfish little hands on.

I looked for any quick and easy way to hide the pain, sadness, and emptiness I felt.

But then God reintroduced Himself through two family members from different sides of my family each at different times – they brought up God. I only notice His hand in all this now as I look back. They specifically asked about my belief in Him and His power – His provision and healing was something I should have known and had faith in but I did not. In fact, I was burdened by the weight of the conversations and pressure to conform to what they thought was best for me. But, the topic stuck with me, He stayed with me quietly – just beneath the surface – and when I was alone, I found myself questioning my beliefs and wrestling with Him. I found myself lingering over Christian sermons on television while I flipped through the channels. Sometimes, I would just catch the end and pray the salvation prayer aloud with them. Then, one day I stumbled upon a  Joyce Meyer Ministries Enjoying Everyday Life broadcast that pointed out the root of my issues – I was disconnected from God – she was talking directly to me but this time I HEARD HIM, not a family member, not Joyce but Him. I immediately prayed the salvation prayer again but this time I FELT HIM, I cried out “I am here Lord, I am here, and I hear you. Thank you Lord!” Thanks to Joyce’s teaching, I knew I had to work with God to help me. His Holy Spirit would guide me and show me my ways that were against His Word. Then I needed to make corrections that put me into agreement with Him and His Word, and that through prayer and belief in Him, I would continue to change for the better.

Fast-forward – a little less than year later.

I digest God’s Word, meditate on it, and make it part of me.

I am fully surrendered to Christ – I am all in and sold out to my Savior.

When God points an issue out, the Holy Spirit convicts me and I move into action – whatever ‘it’ is must go.

I reclaim pieces of my life from the enemy of lies and renew myself in Christ daily.

I take active steps to encourage others to the Cross.

I have changed SO MUCH for the better but I am a work in progress.

God snuck up on me again, this time through two friends on social media, both on different sides of the coin, with completely different agendas, one needed help, and the other offered help. These heart-warming encounters, prompted me to write A Letter To My Old Self and I must tell you I have never felt more SAVED than I did as I wrote that letter to my 12 year-old self. Oh, the wonderful work He has done in me – the Glory belongs to Him alone. Remembering the deep expanse of my pain, anger, and sadness showed me how much God has redeemed for me Psalm 55:22 Romans 8:28 2 Timothy 4:18 Luke 10:19 it shows me He is with me, 1 Corinthians 3:16 Deuteronomy 31:6-8 and that with Him I can get through anything 2 Corinthians 12:9 Philippians 4:13 Isaiah 54:17 because His power is made perfect in my weakness. Amen, I receive it!

_______________________________________________________________

Music that speaks –

Rhett Walker Band – When Mercy Found Me

“…In one moment everything changed

Who I was got washed away

When mercy found me

My Savior’s arms were open wide

And I felt love for the very first time

When mercy found me…”

Chris Tomlin – Amazing Grace (My Chains Are Gone)

“…Amazing grace

How sweet the sound

That saved a wretch like me

I once was lost, but now I’m found

Was blind, but now I see…”

_______________________________________________________________

God, I thank you for guiding me; Your Word is a lamp to my feet, and a light on my path. Fill my heart and renew my mind with your love, compassion, and mercy. Continue to show me the things in my life that separate me from You, Lord. I want to walk in all Your ways, create in me a clean and pure heart. Make Your ways, my ways. I completely surrender myself unto Your Will, I am Yours to shape and mold have Your way in me. I am Yours, in Jesus Name I pray.

God Bless You!

Jennifer – I Give God All The Glory

I am a daughter of God, a servant of the Lord, a wife to a patient husband, and a mama of two forgiving boys. God has placed these three men in my life needfully so. I thank Him for them everyday. And like so many of the Lord’s children, I am a work-of-glory-in-progress. I am on a journey to reclaim and renew my life in Christ. It took me 34 years to learn that when nothing else works, God does!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Christian Life
19 comments on “When He Found Me
  1. "light and salt" says:

    Another super post, Jennifer! I shared it on “Tumblr.” Have an incredible day…
    Steve Pejay

    Liked by 3 people

    • Glory to God – may He use this message to reach the lost!

      Thanks for reading this post – I very much appreciate the precious time you spend here.

      God bless you Steve!

      Jennifer – I Give God All The Glory

      Liked by 1 person

      • "light and salt" says:

        It is time well spent whenever we are encouraged by His word…

        You are a delight, Jennifer! Keep your fervent spirit to do the work which God has set forth for you.

        I’m going over to Twitter now as it seems I’m falling behind with some new followers. That was completely unexpected!

        Anyway, take care and enjoy your weekend. Do you have a regular church you attend? Let me know when you can…

        Steve 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • In this season of life, I watch church streamed live online at live.wogm.com, Word of God Ministries is led by Pastor James McMenis. You can find them on Twitter & Facebook or at their main website wogm.com. They’re a Word centered Church! They have Wed night & Sun morning services, a wonderful chat community, and deliver a relevant Word that anyone can apply to their life right away. I met a wonderful Sister in Christ who serves there, she strengthens and aides me in my walk with God. I highly recommend them to anyone who for whatever reason cannot physically attend church or will be away from their home church. They get a solid ★★★★★ from me 🙂 What about you?

        Like

      • "light and salt" says:

        Hey, Jennifer! Hope you’re doing well today…

        I’m not familiar with this ministry. However, you said the very most important thing…make sure they are a “Word-based” church!

        God only blesses those who rightly divide His word and we don’t want to hear and kind of false doctrine! And there is a lot of it out there…

        Our church supports a Sunday morning service which comes on KDOC TV, but I think it’s a local station in the LA area. However, I’ve never watched it.

        I believe in fellowship with the saints, in person, and together to worship the Lord. Yes, sometimes we can’t be there, and it’s nice to know we can hear the word on TV!

        I will look into James McMenis on Twitter. Hey, by the way, can you tell me about “hashtags?” How do they work?? You said they are so important.

        I’m going off-line now to do some other things, but I see you’ve left me a good bit to read already! That’s so sweet of you, and I love “talking” with you.

        You are such a super person and “on fire” for the work of God! I want to give your visits and replies the attention they deserve, but it’ll be on Monday probably.

        Have an absolutely super weekend! Do you have a “home church?” Let me know…I attend the Church of Christ.

        TTYL,
        Steve 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    • born2xdie1x says:

      Hello my Sister Jennifer! What a blessing it was to read about your journey back to the LORD. HEis so faithful even when we are not. Praise GOD for His grace and mercy through His Loving kindness. May He continue to use you mightily for HIS glory and honour. The LORD bless you and keep you, brother paul

      Liked by 2 people

    • walkthwalk92 says:

      I agree with Steve Jennifer.
      An awesome post. God is given you a real gift,thank you for sharing.
      God bless
      Jerry

      Like

  2. Michelle Mosier says:

    Thank you for sharing your testimony. It is wonderful to hear how God works with each of us in such personal ways. God bless you.

    Like

    • Michelle,

      I very much appreciate your visit 🙂 I’m honored to share my messy, open hearted story with you. You’re right, there is something wonderful that stirs in our Spirit when we hear the special encounters of God – Amen!

      God bless you Sister!

      Jennifer – I Give God All The Glory

      Like

  3. The True Light! says:

    A beautiful “share”…thank you.

    The True Light

    Like

Leave a Reply

