Bible Study – Trusting God: A Life Without Worry – Chapter One Review

image

Chapter One: Noah’s Big Boat Adventure

In chapter one we read Noah’s Bible story – a great story of trusting God. I encourage you to click the link and read the entire story but I’ve included a condensed scripture reflection below- my commentary is in italics.

Genesis 6:1 – Wickedness In The World – Humans increased on earth. Sounds a lot like today.

6:5 The Lord saw how great the wickedness of the human heart had become. Sounds a lot like today.

6:6-7 The Lord regretted that He had made human beings and decided to wipe them off the face of the earth. This verse jumped out at me because God doesn’t make mistakes – this regret has to be part of His bigger plan.

6:8-9 But one man, Noah found favor in the eyes of God, he was righteous, blameless, and walked faithfully with God. When we walk faithfully with God, living according to His Word, He counts it as righteousness.

6:10-12 God looked again at the earth filled with wickedness and violence.

6:13-17 God warned Noah that He was going to put an end to all the people and provided Noah all the details he needed to survive – build the ark, etc.  Let that sink in for a minute, talk about overwhelming. 

6:18 God made a promise to Noah, a covenant to keep Noah, his family and two of every animal alive.  Knock me off my feet.

☆★ —-》 6:22 Noah did all that God commanded him. Unwavering faith, leaning hard on the Lord for strength, trusting in God’s ability not our own.

7:1 The Lord gave Noah more instructions and details.  This reminds me of Luke 16:10 and Matthew 25:23.

☆★ —-》 7:5 Noah did all that God commanded him.  Again, Noah demonstrates unwavering faith, leaning hard on the Lord for strength, trusting in God’s ability not our own.

7:6-24 God’s plan unfolded just as He said it would – it rained for 40 days and 40 nights, Noah did as God asked, flood lasted 150 days.  God is true to His word.

8 Then God remembered Noah and all the animals and made the water subside. God can be trusted to rescue us.

8:15 God told Noah to come out of the ark, and Noah immediately built an altar and worshiped God.  I would too! Wouldn’t you?!

9 God blessed Noah saying, “Be fruitful and multiply, and fill the earth.” Amen.

9:8-11 God establishes a covenant with Noah and his descendants to never again destroy humans or the earth by flood. Whew!

9:12-17 God sets a rainbow in the sky as a symbol of this covenant. I’ll never look at a rainbow the same again.

9:28 Noah lived for 350 years after the flood, his days totaled 950 years. Glory to God!

Chapter One focus point – Noah did all God commanded!
_____________________________________________________

Let’s answer some questions from what we have reviewed thus far – the below list is a mix of questions from the Bible study and some of my own.

1. Why did God select Noah? Refer to Genesis 6:8-9 What do you think made Noah righteous?

2. Reflect on righteous and unrighteous living – Genesis 6:5,8-12, list of Christian character traits,  Galatians 5:9-21, 1 Corinthians 6:9-10.

3. God wants us to live righteously. What do you feel God prompting you today to lay down and walk away from? What do you feel God prompting you today to pick up and walk into? What attitudes or actions need adjustments or modifications? What is stopping you from making these changes today? Pray about it now – ask for God’s help and guidance.

4. In reference to Genesis 6:13-17 I ask this question, when prompted by God what is the craziest, bravest, boldest thing you’ve ever done out of full faith, sheer confidence and pure trust in God?  For me, I still battle with depression and severe anxiety but I know God doesn’t intend for me to live like that. Every time they start up I lean on God – I trust that He will heal and rescue me and He has never let me down. It takes time, big leaps of faith and lots of practice for us to build an unbreakable trust in the Lord. What about you?

5. During his adventure Noah saw God at work in the details and knew He was in control. Can you recall a time when you’ve experienced a similar encounter with God?

6. In reference to Genesis 6:13-17, how do you think Noah felt when God warned him about the flood and promised to spare him? Compare what you think Noah felt against your personal feelings during times of trial or struggle.  I noticed alarming similarities in my personal reflection and comparison. Are you having an ‘Ah-Ha’ moment too? Noah, no matter how heroic, brave, and trusting, he is human. He probably experienced the same roller-coaster of emotions we do 🙂

I think we’re getting somewhere!

7. Noah understood the concept of first things, first! Noah praised and worshiped God immediately after exiting the ark – he had his priorities in correct order. How can we make praising God more of a priority in our lives? Learn to praise God during the good and the bad, learn to pray during the good and the bad, learn to put God first in our lives.

_____________________________________________________

Digging Deeper: read and reflect on Hebrews 11. Did you know Hebrews 11 is often referred to as the Hall of Faith? I didn’t but I do now 🙂 Here is my reflection: I am reminded that even though they all trusted God, had faith in God, and obeyed God recklessly, their lives looked wildly different. The details and circumstances were extremely different. We can’t compare our lives to the lives of others because God has a different purpose and plan for each of us. We shouldn’t strive to be like each other but like Jesus.

_____________________________________________________

Bonus: using BibleGateway.com, I searched for other places in the Bible where Noah is mentioned.

Matthew 24:36-44  Verse 42-44 are awesome!

2 Peter 2:4-6

Hebrews 11:7

Isaiah 53:9

Ezekiel 14:14-20 

You can go even deeper by clicking ‘Show Resources’ (as pictured below).

show resources

Click on ‘Noah’ (as pictured below).click noah

Click on any of the various links to explore further (as pictured below).click on noah 2

_____________________________________________________

I hope you enjoyed chapter one. I pray God spoke to you while you read this, I urge you to listen to whatever He put on your heart. I’d love your hear reflections about Noah’s story, your responses to the questions, and any overall feedback about this chapter review. The goal and purpose of this study is for us to grow spiritually. I pray God gives us the wisdom to provide mutually beneficial thought-provoking, Christ-like inspiration.

God bless you.

Jennifer – I Give God All The Glory

I am a daughter of God, a servant of the Lord, a wife to a patient husband, and a mama of two forgiving boys. God has placed these three men in my life needfully so. I thank Him for them everyday. And like so many of the Lord’s children, I am a work-of-glory-in-progress. I am on a journey to reclaim and renew my life in Christ. It took me 34 years to learn that when nothing else works, God does!

Posted in #bgbg2, Bible Gateway, Bible Studies, Christian Life, Trusting God: A Life Without Worry by Margaret Feinberg
11 comments on “Bible Study – Trusting God: A Life Without Worry – Chapter One Review
  1. Chris says:

    I love His word with a passion and so so you. We are kindred spirits.

    Like

  2. "light and salt" says:

    Reblogged this on "light and salt" and commented:
    Here is chapter one of Jennifer’s study. Please take the time to read it…

    Like

  3. Karen says:

    “7:6-24 God’s plan unfolded just as He said it would – it rained for 40 days and 40 nights, Noah did as God asked, flood lasted 150 days. God is true to His word.
    8 Then God remembered Noah and all the animals and made the water subside. God can be trusted to rescue us.”
    What you wrote here made me think of a parallel with the future. I mean, seeing the future based on the past. God said He was going to do X and gave Noah instructions and Noah obeyed and God rescued him. In the Bible, God tells us Jesus is coming back and gives us instructions what to do to be rescued. Will we follow Him in obedience?

    Like

  4. […] Jennifer’s I Give God All the Glory blog, I found myself looking up Genesis 6:13-7:5 where God gives Noah instructions for building the ark. […]

    Like

  5. The True Light! says:

    These are good, well written, and helpful, Jennifer. Good job…

    The True Light

    Like

Leave a Reply

