Bible Study – Trusting God: A Life Without Worry – Chapter Two Review

image

Chapter Two: Isaac’s Unforgettable Love Story

In chapter two we read of Isaac and Rebekah  – a great story showing God is in the details. I encourage you to click the link and read the entire story but I’ve included a condensed scripture reflection below- my commentary is in italics.

The story of Isaac and Rebekah begins in Genesis 24 but to help set up this story let’s back up a bit to Genesis 17. Genesis 17:5-6, God promised “to make Abraham exceedingly fruitful and to make nations of him, saying that kings will come forth from him.” Good Lord, can you feel the weight of that promise? Genesis 17:15, God promised Abraham (100 yrs old) that his wife Sarah (90 yrs old) would give birth to a son and (verse 19) they will call him Isaac and God will establish an everlasting covenant with his descendants. In their old age they laughed, wouldn’t you? It’s also important to note that Jesus is a descendant of Isaac – glory to God who keeps His Word! Genesis 21 Isaac was born just as God promised. Genesis 22 God tested Abraham’s faith and asked him to offer Isaac as a sacrifice to God. ★Abraham prepared to do all that the Lord commanded. The ultimate test of faith, how gut-wrentchingly terrifying 😦 Genesis 22:12 an angel of the Lord appeared and said “STOP, do nothing to the lad, God knows you fear Him since you have not spared your son from Him. Thank the Lord! Genesis 22:15 God reaffirmed His promise to Abraham saying that because of his faith and trust to do all God commanded of him, God will indeed multiply his seed as the stars in heaven and the sand on the seashore, and they will be blessed because he obeyed God. I thank God for Abraham’s faithful obedience. Genesis 23 Abraham’s beloved Sarah died at 127. I imagine great sadness befell Abraham and Isaac 😦  This brings us to Genesis 24 – A Bride for Isaac – the story of Isaac and Rebekah. Abraham had been blessed in life, he had experienced a wonderful love with Sarah and all of what God had promised him had come to pass except one thing – a father of nations. He knew that if he was to be the father of nations his son would need a bride and fast! Genesis 24:2 Abraham made his servant swear to go find a wife for Isaac and he placed specific demands on the servant. What a great responsibility to undertake. Genesis 24:5 The servant begins to question his ability to accomplish what Abraham asked of him, saying what-if the woman will not come back with me. I frequently what-if my abilities and think of all the things that could go wrong – I forget God goes before me. Genesis 22:7 Abraham reassured the servant that God would send an angel of the Lord before him but that if the woman will not return then he is free of his oath. Genesis 22:10 The servant sets out on his mission to the place Abraham requested. Genesis 22:12 He prayed to God for success and asked God for specific signs so that he will know which woman God has appointed for Isaac. I’d be praying for God’s help too! Genesis 24:15 Before the servant finished speaking Rebekah, the Lord’s chosen wife for Isaac appeared and the fulfilled all the signs the servant asked for. Genesis 24:26 The servant bowed low and worshipped the Lord. Recaps Chapter one about our priorities – 1st things 1st – worship the Lord. Genesis 24:34 The servant informs Rebekah and her family why he came to them. Genesis 24:50 They accept his mission as God-appointed and send Rebekah home with him. Genesis 24: 62 Isaac was in the feild when Rebekah arrived. Genesis 24:64 Rebekah sees Isaac for the first time. I don’t know if it’s just me but I feel sparks fly here, like love at first sight. Genesis 24:67 Isaac marries Rebekah and loves her, and finds comfort after his mother’s death. One step closer to God’s promise.

       Chapter Two focus point – God is in the details.
____________________________________________________

Margaret Feinberg writes, “Those familiar with the story know that all the what-if’s worked out because a powerful, sovereign God was in control all along. The word sovereign means that God has absolute control over everything, all the details of life – even the circumstances that led to the marriage of Rebekah and Isaac.” Amen!

Then it hits me…though written long before our time, the Bible truly gives us an advantage over many things we face today. When we shift our perspectives to look deeper and apply these stories to our lives, the Bible becomes the timeless, invaluable treasure it was intended to be! In the written account of Isaac and Rebekah we see how God intricately worked through every detail of this story to fit each piece together perfectly. We may not get to see it that way in our own lives but we can trust God’s faithful character and know He is doing the same thing in our lives right now. I find tremendous peace in this. 🙂

Margaret goes on to challenge us to replace all the bad what-if’s with good ones. Instead of saying what-if I don’t get the job, what-if my kids act out at school, what-if I get a bad report at the doctor? She says, “But there are greater what-if questions we can ask ourselves. What if we to chose to trust God with all the details? What if we choose to pray? What if we chose to walk in faith? What if we chose to follow God’s instructions fully and faithfully? What if the same sovereign God who brought Isaac and Rebekah together is still sovereign over our lives today?”

            I think you get the point, don’t you?

___________________________________________________

Let’s answer some questions from what we have reviewed thus far – the below list is a mix of questions from the Bible study and some of my own.

1. How often do you what-if he details of your life?

2. How often do you internalize your worries and what-if’s instead of turning them over to God’s sovereign control?

3.What worry and what-if’s are you facing right now that you can you turn over to God’s sovereign authority? I encourage you to prayerfully consider these with the Lord now.

4. When have you seen God in control of the details in your life? Can you trust Him to work it out for you?
___________________________________________________

Digging Deeper: read and reflect on Luke 22:39-46. How did Jesus respond to the big what-if before His arrest? Here is my reflection: Jesus was distraught over what was to come and He prayed for God to take this burden (cup) from Him but above all Jesus wanted God’s Will to be done not His own. From this I take two good points, 1. Don’t try to control it but pray about it and 2. Above all the chose to do the Will of God.

___________________________________________________

Bonus Activity: using BibleGateway.com, spend some time researching other men and women of the Bible, such as Jonah, Mary, Moses, Peter, and Thomas. Make a list of the what-if questions they faced, then dig deep to compare them to the ones you face. Can you take what you learn from them and apply it to your life?

___________________________________________________

I hope you enjoyed chapter two 🙂 I pray God spoke to you while you read this, I urge you to listen to whatever He put on your heart. I’d love your hear reflections about Isaac and Rebekah’s story, your responses to the questions, and any overall feedback about this chapter review. The goal and purpose of this study is for us to grow spiritually. I pray God gives us the wisdom to provide mutually beneficial thought-provoking, Christ-like inspiration.

God bless you.

Jennifer – I Give God All The Glory

I am a daughter of God, a servant of the Lord, a wife to a patient husband, and a mama of two forgiving boys. God has placed these three men in my life needfully so. I thank Him for them everyday. And like so many of the Lord’s children, I am a work-of-glory-in-progress. I am on a journey to reclaim and renew my life in Christ. It took me 34 years to learn that when nothing else works, God does!

Posted in #bgbg2, Bible Gateway, Bible Studies, Christian Life, Trusting God: A Life Without Worry by Margaret Feinberg
26 comments on “Bible Study – Trusting God: A Life Without Worry – Chapter Two Review
  1. lilkaraphael says:

    This is a wonderful post making me reflect on my own “what ifs.” Very nice!

    Like

    • Lilka,

      Glory to God! This was a huge wake up call for me. I am detailed and like to cover all the bases but that only multiples the what-ifs in my life 🙂 I’m glad it spoke to you too!

      ♥ God, have mercy on us, help us release our need to control all the details, help us trust You with every aspect of our lives, in Jesus name.♥

      God bless you.

      Jennifer – I Give God All The Glory

      Like

  2. teenfaith777 says:

    GREAT post!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks for sharing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Abraham is one of stories in the Bible that helps in my with GOD!!!! Thanks again!! 🙂
    GOD BLESS

    Like

  3. rolerrol says:

    Hi Jennifer.
    Thanks for sharing the second part of your bible study. As I was going through it there was this constant thought, Don’t stop!
    Please keep on doing these bible studies….I have got some really important things from both studies already. I think more and more people need to read what you sharing.
    The first study was about God being in control and this one focused on, God being in the details. He is in the details.
    There is a lot of things that spoke to me in this study. I will zone in on just one. I focus on the what-if section. That really spoke to me because I have been doing that as well. There are things God has told me to do but I am asking Him, what if?! It is time to replace bad what-ifs for good ones! I loved that. I am reflecting on the questions you shared. Those are some deep questions.
    Thanks again for sharing this study!
    God bless
    Rolain

    Like

    • Rolain,

      Hello again dear friend! It is AMAZING how much you’re getting from this! I’m so honored and blessed to witness your Spirit bloom! I trust God to do great things with the revelations this study is bringing to light for all of us! You are right on with the chapter themes – yes! 🙂 I’m right there with ya, I am a constant what-if’er but in this study I am learning to trust God is in control and trust God is in the details!

      God bless you!

      Jennifer – I Give God All The Glory

      Like

  4. Awesome post and so timely! This sounds like a great study and one that would be right down my alley!
    Thank you for sharing!

    Like

    • Tauni,

      Hi! I appreciate your kind words – glory to God! I am enjoying this Bible study so much. It’s the first one I’ve blogged through and boy am I getting so much more out of it! The study book is really neat and the chapter’s are quick reads – I highly recommend it!

      God bless you.

      Jennifer – I Give God All The Glory

      Like

  5. "light and salt" says:

    Hey, Jennifer…how can a guy lose with God as his “wing man!” In all seriousness…it’s a great story of love. My daughter is named Rebecca, but she hasn’t learned about complete love and forgiveness in her life…a casualty of my shortsightedness long ago, and a ruthless “ex” I’m sorry to say!
    Anyway, a very good post and a beautiful story…
    Steve Pejay

    Like

  6. "light and salt" says:

    Reblogged this on "light and salt" and commented:
    Continuing with Jennifer’s bible study….

    Like

  7. Karen says:

    “From this I take two good points, 1. Don’t try to control it but pray about it and 2. Above all the chose to do the Will of God.”

    What powerful lessons from Jesus! In letting go of control of the outcome. I am a “details” person too. I want the outcome of things to be what they are supposed to be. In the past, I have thought if I can just be in control enough, then the outcome will come, so to speak. lol. But oftentimes in life, certain things don’t turn out as expected for whatever reason.

    What if one just let go of controlling for an expected outcome and instead just followed Jesus’ example? (I am certain this is what God would have us do – it is just challenging sometimes.) But really. What if one just prayed and read the Word and chose to do the Will of God as laid out by His instructions to us in His Word – and let go of the outcome?

    Realizing that everything might not appear perfect or all together from the outside, but maybe that’s the way God wants it to be. I just read this somewhere – please forgive me as i cannot remember where I read it at this moment – but whoever wrote it God bless them and thank You Holy Spirit for Your wisdom and knowledge to us – God did not promise us an “easy” life but an “abundant” life.

    “I have come that they may have life, and that they may have it more abundantly.” John 10:10 I was looking at the meaning of that word “abundantly” on Studylight Interlinear http://www.studylight.org/desk/interlinear.cgi?search_form_type=interlinear&q1=john+10%3A10&ot=bhs&nt=wh&s=0&t3=str_kjv&ns=0 and two meanings stood out to me: “uncommon” and “beyond measure”.

    So, I take from that – expect the unexpected. Trust God. Enjoy the ride. 🙂

    Like

    • Oh yes – how I pray for God to help me let go of the outcome! The immediate consequences of the world really hinder that release for me. Lord, help us with the ‘letting go’ and ‘letting God control’ (that’s actually a good line)!

      ‘Expect the unexpected’ is a great take away because while we know that God works for the good of those who love Him, that ‘good’ might not always look ‘good’ to us – it may be in the form of a trial to help us grow and further our faith or perhaps, it’s losing something we think is good for us but in reality, it’s really just hindering us. And of course, that’s where trusting God pops up again! It’s a circle we can’t escape, nor we would we want to. We want to grow in faith and closer to God. We want to do His will. We want to live like He tells us to in the Bible. Lord, help us please 🙂

      God bless you.

      Jennifer – I Give God All The Glory

      Like

      • Karen says:

        “Lord, help us with the ‘letting go’ and ‘letting God control’”

        Yes Lord, help us!

        “(that’s actually a good line)!”

        indeed it is!

        “while we know that God works for the good of those who love Him, that ‘good’ might not always look ‘good’ to us – it may be in the form of a trial to help us grow and further our faith or perhaps, it’s losing something we think is good for us but in reality, it’s really just hindering us.”

        Amen and amen!

        “For My thoughts are not your thoughts,
        Nor are your ways My ways,” says the Lord.
        “For as the heavens are higher than the earth,
        So are My ways higher than your ways,
        And My thoughts than your thoughts.”
        Isaiah 55:8-9

        Teach us Your ways o Lord, may we learn to let go of control and rest in You. Amen.

        Like

      • Ditto, ditto, ditto – AMEN!

        Like

      • Karen says:

        Here is another thought on “expecting the unexpected”
        “Therefore you also be ready, for the Son of Man is coming at an hour you do not expect.” Luke 12:40

        Like

      • Amen! You’re getting my mind going first thing in the morning – glory to God!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

