Bible Study – Trusting God: A Life Without Worry – Chapter Six Review

image

In chapter six we read the story of Esther – a great story showing us that God is at work even when we don’t recognize it! Due to the length of Esther’s story, I did not include a condensed scripture commentary in this review. Instead, I strongly encourage you to click the Bible Gateway link below to read through the entire story.

Book of Esther
The Banquets Of The King – Esther 1:1-9
Queen Vashti’s Refusal – Esther 1:10-22
Vashti’s Successor Sought – Esther 2:1-7
Esther Finds Favor – Esther 2:8-16
Esther Becomes Queen – Esther 2:17-20
Mordecai Saves The King – Esther 2:21-23
Haman’s Plot Against The Jews – Esther 3:1-15
Esther Learns Of Haman’s Plot – Esther 4:1-14
Esther Plans To Intercede – Esther 4:15-17
Esther Plans A Banquet – Esther 5:1-8
Haman’s Pride – Esther 5:9-14
The King Plans To Honor Mordecai – Esther 6:1-9
Haman Must Honor Mordecai – Esther 6:10-14
Esther’s Plea – Esther 7:1-6
Haman Is Hanged – Esther 7:7-10
Mordecai Promoted – Esther 8:1-7
The King’s Decree Avenges The Jews – Esther 8:8-17
The Jews Destory Their Enemies – Esther 9:1-19
The Feast of Purim Instituted – Esther 9:20-32
Mordecai’s Greatness – Esther 10:1-3

        Chapter Six focus point – God is everywhere.

___________________________________________________

At times, God may appear as if He is hiding Himself, but seen or unseen He ever accomplishes that which is according to His will – Zondervan Scripture Reference Resources: A Woman who Saved Her Nation From Genocide.

Though God is not mentioned one time in the book of the Esther, as the Creator of everything, His handiwork is easily recognized. God is found in the details, storyline, and every intricacy – this book of the Bible no exception. Think back to Esther’s story – imagine all of the individual lives touched, imagine all of the events that had to take place, or all the moving peices that came perfectly together in order for God’s Will to be accomplished through Esther. The name Esther means star of hope or joy and that is exactly what she was – a hope for a nation. I wonder how many of us are not living up to our potential and/or God’s purpose for our lives? How many alignments or adjustments must be made for and around us because of our disobedience to God’s Will for our lives? How many lives are negatively impacted by this disobedience? It’s mind boggling really! Imagine if Esther, consumed by the selfish fear of losing her life, decided to quit and crawl into a corner – oh, her poor people! That’s where our trust in an Almighty, all-powerful God comes into play. That’s where we find unthinkable strength and confidence (2 Corinthians 3:12Ephesians 3:12, Hebrews 13:6, Hebrews 4:15, Psalm 138:3, Isaiah 40:29). When we listen, follow, and strive after doing His Will, we work according to His plan, not against it. Not that God needs our help to accomplish anything, it just feels good to offer our submission and obedience to Him like Esther did. Knowing we are a people in whom the Almighty God can rely upon to be obedient (1 John 3:22, Hebrews 13:16Proverbs 16:7, Psalm 19:14, Psalm 51:12, Romans 8:8), well, I think it’d make Him smile wide! I think He smiled upon Esther too!

          God is in the seen and unseen – everything!        
___________________________________________________

Let’s answer some questions from what we have reviewed thus far – the below list is a mix of questions from the Bible study and some of my own.

1. Recall a situation in your life when something big depended on you. How did you handle it? What was your focus – God’s Will or your own? What can you do better next time?

2. On a scale of 1 to 10, how willing would you be right now to obey God if He asked you to do something that might cost your life or the lives of others?

Very unwilling |———————-| Very willing
                  |1–2–3–4–5–6–7–8–9–10|
                        

3.  In Esther 4:12-14, Mordecai asks Esther a very important question that reveals part of God’s plan and Handiwork in this story – “Who knows? Maybe you were made queen for just such a time as this.”  Can you recall a time in your life when God’s handiwork was so evident? Did you notice it at the time or much later? How many times do you think His handiwork goes unnoticed by us? What can we do to discern His plan and purpose going forward (Romans 12:2)?

  ___________________________________________________

Digging Deeper: read and reflect on Romans 8:28. Do you understand the magnitude of this passage? What does God promise in this verse? How did all things work together for Esther’s good? How do you find encouragement in God’s promise? How can you use this verse to strengthen your faith and trust in God? Even though we may not see or feel God in the midst of our trials and tribulations – He is still there, in perfect control of it all!
             
                         God is always in control!

___________________________________________________

Bonus Activity: watch this video – ‘For Such A Time As This’. How does this song encourage and challenge your journey of faith right now?

___________________________________________________

I hope you enjoyed chapter six 🙂 I pray God spoke to you while you read this, I urge you to listen to whatever He put on your heart. I’d love your hear reflections about Esther’s story, your responses to the questions, and any overall feedback about this chapter review. The goal and purpose of this study is for us to grow spiritually. I pray God gives us the wisdom to provide mutually beneficial thought-provoking, Christ-like inspiration.

God bless you.

Jennifer – I Give God All The Glory

I am a daughter of God, a servant of the Lord, a wife to a patient husband, and a mama of two forgiving boys. God has placed these three men in my life needfully so. I thank Him for them everyday. And like so many of the Lord’s children, I am a work-of-glory-in-progress. I am on a journey to reclaim and renew my life in Christ. It took me 34 years to learn that when nothing else works, God does!

Posted in #bgbg2, Bible Gateway, Bible Studies, Christian Life, Confidence, God, Trusting God: A Life Without Worry by Margaret Feinberg
26 comments on “Bible Study – Trusting God: A Life Without Worry – Chapter Six Review
  1. TeenFaith777 says:

    That is great!!! Thanks for the post! I think I’m going to do a study on this as the LORD leads!! Thanks again!! 🙂 ♥

    Like

  2. "light and salt" says:

    Reblogged this on "light and salt" and commented:
    Here is Jennifer’s lesson 6 in her study!

    Like

  3. Catherine says:

    Terrific post! 🙂

    Like

  4. rolerrol says:

    Hi Jennifer
    This is another great bible study. Esther story is amazing and we can see God’s hand in her life. What challenged me was when you spoke about Esther’s obedience. Because she was obedient to God she saved a lot of people. When we are disobedient we are making it hard on ourselves. There are people waiting to be touched by me but because of disobedience I am shooting myself in the foot so to speak. I see areas where I am not being obedient because of fear of the unknown but my prayer is that I step out and do it…..Thanks for sharing!
    Rolain

    Like

    • Rolain,

      I know I’ve said this before but I love how you absorb the information given to you – it’s a God-given gift! 🙂 This study literally ‘turned the lights on’ for me – sometimes we think way too much in terms of ‘here and now’ and not ‘eternally’. When I stand in judgement before God, I don’t want to say – “well, I’m sorry God, I was afraid or I couldn’t see a solution.” – because He makes us fearless and provides the impossible. I stand in prayer with you!

      God bless you.

      Jennifer – I Give God All The Glory

      Like

  5. mwitasblog says:

    A wonderful post. Really hope I can come back and engage more!

    Like

  6. I’ve always loved Esther’s story… what a great reminder that God is in everything, even the circumstances that don’t make sense to us at the time!

    Like

  7. Karen says:

    Here’s what stood out to me:

    What can we do to discern His plan and purpose going forward (Romans 12:2)?

    Read the Word. And then read it some more. And some more and some more and some more. “And these words which I command you today shall be in your heart. You shall teach them diligently to your children, and shall talk of them when you sit in your house, when you walk by the way, when you lie down, and when you rise up.” Deuteronomy 6:6-7

    Having just read your prior post (the reblogged one regarding defeating satan), to me this is one of the biggest lies satan will try to use against God’s people is that the “will of God” is somehow some deep esoteric thing that we have to puzzle over. I’ve lost almost 20 years of my life to believing satan’s lies, and I won’t stand for it anymore. As Craig so well said in his post, we don’t defeat him in our own strength but through the counsel of the Holy Spirit and with the weapon of the Word.

    I’ve been listening to the Bible Gateway audio Bible for some nights now – the gospels of Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John as I have not read them all the way through in some time and the Holy Spirit has just awakened my ears like never before. Jesus is so clear regarding the will of the Father if we will only listen and obey. I believe someone mentioned that already – obedience, how obedience could not be more critical.

    Jesus said, “No longer do I call you servants, for a servant does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all things that I heard from My Father I have made known to you.” John 15:15 And indeed He has, if we will only read/listen to His Word and obey. Read the Word! Read the Word! Read the Word!

    Read and reflect on Romans 8:28.

    This is a great one as well, as just this past weekend the Lord impressed upon me both this verse and Philippians 4:13 – specifically the words “all things” mentioned in both verses. All things! I came across this motivational quote I’d saved, “Don’t let what you can’t do interfere with what you can do.” And this really had me scratching my head. Because Philippians says I can “do all things” through Christ. But I kept feeling drawn to think on it more.

    And I guess it is kind of like “not everyone can be Michael Jordan” meaning not everyone can be a superstar. Like, that’s not their gift. But, everything I CAN do, I can do ***Through Him*** who gives me strength. All things done through Him. Through abiding in the vine. Which I think kind of brings it back to Esther, which I did not re-read her story tonight since I just read it a few months ago. But just about what you said – about her obedience. She is that great example for us of godly obedience to emulate in our lives in obedience to Jesus’ teachings.

    Thank you for your blessed posts, glory to God! God bless you, Jennifer. 🙂

    Karen

    Like

    • Karen,

      I love the way you digest His Word – what an admirable trait! Read His Word, read His Word, read His Word, repeat, repeat and never cease – AMEN! How are we to know His way unless His Word is rooted deep in our hearts and minds and then followed through in every facet of our lives.

      I am with you, I will not tolerate satan’s lies and schemes either. Maybe he had a foothold before when I was unaware and felt powerless but I know better now and have an all-powerful God behind me – so NOT ANY MORE – get thee behind me satan!

      Far too often, we hear the Word but do not carry it out (James 1:22). We must live it out – hearers and doers of the Word! Hallelujah! Glory to God! I also love the point you made with John 15:15 – we have a guiding friend in Jesus!

      I’m happy to hear your revelation with Romans 8:28 and Philippians 4:13. The latter has helped me through my severe depression and anxiety attacks. My former, old self would have never believed the sheer magnitude and power of the Word of God – His Word has never failed me – AND EVEN BETTER HE NEVER WILL! I had a similar revelation with the Armor of God, being that shield of faith quenches ALL the fiery darts of the evil one! Not one, or two, or some but ALL – this revelation was MIND-BLOWING for me! I pray you will find comfort in this also! It is AMAZING to know and I mean really KNOW we can do ALL things through Christ and that our faith in Him is like a shield that extinguishes ALL the flaming darts of the evil one – what do we have to fear but the Lord our God! Thanks be to God!

      Great talk Sister-in-Christ!

      God bless you.

      Jennifer – I Give God All The Glory

      Like

      • Karen says:

        “I am with you, I will not tolerate satan’s lies and schemes either. Maybe he had a foothold before when I was unaware and felt powerless but I know better now and have an all-powerful God behind me – so NOT ANY MORE – get thee behind me satan!”

        Amen, amen, amen!!!

        “Far too often, we hear the Word but do not carry it out (James 1:22). We must live it out – hearers and doers of the Word! Hallelujah! Glory to God!”

        Yes! Thank You Jesus!

        “I’m happy to hear your revelation with Romans 8:28 and Philippians 4:13. The latter has helped me through my severe depression and anxiety attacks. My former, old self would have never believed the sheer magnitude and power of the Word of God – His Word has never failed me – AND EVEN BETTER HE NEVER WILL! I had a similar revelation with the Armor of God, being that shield of faith quenches ALL the fiery darts of the evil one! Not one, or two, or some but ALL – this revelation was MIND-BLOWING for me! I pray you will find comfort in this also! It is AMAZING to know and I mean really KNOW we can do ALL things through Christ and that our faith in Him is like a shield that extinguishes ALL the flaming darts of the evil one – what do we have to fear but the Lord our God! Thanks be to God!”

        That’s so beautiful. 🙂 I have not written about this publicly, but I too have struggled with severe depression and anxiety attacks. God has been doing this work in me, which is so mind-blowing like you say – I really cannot comprehend it. I know He is healing me, and I want to fully receive it. It is right there – for me, for us, for whoever needs it – it’s just so mind-blowing and hard for me to receive – I don’t know why. I don’t know why. I am so unworthy and in awe of His grace and mercy. He will be my everything if I will let Him. He is Lord of my life but to surrender and let Him be Lord of everything – to let go of all those things I’d looked to for some sort of help or support or aid instead of Him – He is impressing upon me that I can let it go. Let it all go. Let Him be Lord of all and He will never ever fail me.

        “Again, the kingdom of heaven is like treasure hidden in a field, which a man found and hid; and for joy over it he goes and sells all that he has and buys that field. Again, the kingdom of heaven is like a merchant seeking beautiful pearls, who, when he had found one pearl of great price, went and sold all that he had and bought it.” Matthew 13:44-46

        I can let everything else go – everything. It’s staggering.

        God bless you today, dear sister Jennifer!

        Karen

        Like

  8. Karen says:

    Hi Jennifer, here is an additional thought. Regarding this question:

    2. On a scale of 1 to 10, how willing would you be right now to obey God if He asked you to do something that might cost your life or the lives of others?

    Very unwilling |———————-| Very willing
    |1–2–3–4–5–6–7–8–9–10|

    “Let this mind be in you which was also in Christ Jesus” Philippians 2:5
    “And being found in appearance as a man, He humbled Himself and became obedient to the point of death, even the death of the cross.” Philippians 2:8

    Seriously makes me check my heart.

    Great questions, glory to God! ♥

    Like

  9. Thanks so much for this. It really moved me not only spiritually but mentally in the right direction. It blessed me today when I really needed it and everything isn’t quite so clear. Peace to you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

