Bible Study – Trusting God: A Life Without Worry – Chapter Eight Review

image

Chapter Eight: David Dances With Wild Abandon

In chapter eight we read the story David’s efforts to return the Ark of the Covenant (where the Ten commandments were held) to Jerusalem. It’s a great story showing us that God’s presence is praiseworthy! Included below is the entire story – my commentary is in italics.

2 Samuel 6 

Peril in Moving the Ark – 6 Now David again gathered all the chosen men of Israel, thirty thousand. 2 And David arose and went with all the people who were with him to Baale-judah, to bring up from there the ark of God (Ark of the Covenant) which is called by the Name, the very name of the Lord of hosts who is enthroned above the cherubim. 3 They placed the ark of God on a new cart that they might bring it from the house of Abinadab which was on the hill; and Uzzah and Ahio, the sons of Abinadab, were leading the new cart. 4 So they brought it with the ark of God from the house of Abinadab, which was on the hill; and Ahio was walking ahead of the ark. 5 Meanwhile, David and all the house of Israel were celebrating (worship, praise) before the Lord with all kinds of instruments made of fir wood, and with lyres, harps, tambourines, castanets and cymbals.

6 But when they came to the threshing floor of Nacon, Uzzah reached out toward the ark of God and took hold of it, for the oxen nearly upset it. 7 And the anger of the Lord burned against Uzzah, and God struck him down there for his irreverence; and he died there by the ark of God. (It was against God’s law to touch the Ark, Uzzah tried to save the Ark from falling to the ground and God struck him down for his lack of respect of His law). 8 David became angry because of the Lord’s outburst against Uzzah, and that place is called Perez-uzzah to this day (A name that serves as a warning to all. Perhaps, David was upset because Uzzah tried to do what he thought was right – save Ark from falling – but he did not listen to God’s law. God knows all and if He wanted us to save it from falling He would have specified that. God knows best). 9 So David was afraid of the Lord that day; and he said, “How can the ark of the Lord come to me?” 10 And David was unwilling to move the ark of the Lord into the city of David with him; but David took it aside to the house of Obed-edom the Gittite (I’d be afraid too! That’s a lot of responsibility!). 11 Thus the ark of the Lord remained in the house of Obed-edom the Gittite three months, and the Lord blessed Obed-edom and all his household. (Glory and blessing that flows from thr presence of God).

The Ark Is Brought to Jerusalem – 12 Now it was told King David, saying, “The Lord has blessed the house of Obed-edom and all that belongs to him, on account of the ark of God.” (Well, duh!)  David went and brought up the ark of God from the house of Obed-edom into the city of David with gladness. (Obviously!) 13 And so it was, that when the bearers of the ark of the Lord had gone six paces, he sacrificed an ox and a fatling. 14 And David was dancing before the Lord with all his might, and David was wearing a linen ephod. 15 So David and all the house of Israel were bringing up the ark of the Lord with shouting and the sound of the trumpet (worship, praise).

16 Then it happened as the ark of the Lord came into the city of David that Michal the daughter of Saul looked out of the window and saw King David leaping and dancing before the Lord; and she despised him in her heart (instead of embracing the praise, she was more concerned with what everyone else would think).

17 So they brought in the ark of the Lord and set it in its place inside the tent which David had pitched for it; and David offered burnt offerings and peace offerings before the Lord. 18 When David had finished offering the burnt offering and the peace offering, he blessed the people in the name of the Lord of hosts. 19 Further, he distributed to all the people, to all the multitude of Israel, both to men and women, a cake of bread and one of dates and one of raisins to each one. Then all the people departed each to his house.

20 But when David returned to bless his household, Michal the daughter of Saul came out to meet David and said, “How the king of Israel distinguished himself today! He uncovered himself today in the eyes of his servants’ maids as one of the foolish ones shamelessly uncovers himself!” (instead of embracing the presence of God, she was more concerned with what everyone would think about their King’s behavior). 21 So David said to Michal, “It was before the Lord, who chose me above your father and above all his house, to appoint me ruler over the people of the Lord, over Israel; therefore I will celebrate before the Lord. (Amen! Praise,  worship, and celebrate God in all!) 22 I will be more lightly esteemed than this and will be humble in my own eyes, but with the maids of whom you have spoken, with them I will be distinguished.” (God exults the humble). 23 Michal the daughter of Saul had no child to the day of her death (in the OT, it was seen as a possible punishment from God to be childless).

           Chapter Eight focus point – Praise God!

________________________________________________

These verses show us how important it is…

…to stay focused on God.
…to listen to God’s commands.
…to praise and worship God in all.

The presence of God is tangible – we can sense Him like David did. When David was in the presence of God, he had no stress, no worries – he rested in and praised God’s presence. Anyone who’s felt the Holy Spirit has been in the presence of God. Can we be like David and rest in God’s presence? Can we cast our cares upon Him (1 Peter 5:7) and simply dance and sing like crazy for Him?

Let’s see what God says on the subject:

Matthew 11:28-30 28 Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”

Exodus 33:14 And he said, “My presence will go with you, and I will give you rest.”

Psalm 150:6 Let everything that has breath praise the Lord! Praise the Lord!

Jeremiah 31:13 Then shall the young women rejoice in the dance, and the young men and the old shall be merry. I will turn their mourning into joy; I will comfort them, and give them gladness for sorrow.

If we follow and praise Him with all our heart, His presence will go before us and give us rest! Hallelujah! Let all His people rejoice!

                       Rest in and praise God!
________________________________________________

Let’s answer some questions from what we have reviewed thus far – the below list is a mix of questions from the Bible study and some of my own.

1. When we’re in the presence of God, we find rest. When we praise God, we find joy. What can you do to increase your rest and joy in the Lord?

2. David worshipped God through music and dance. What is your favorite form of worship?

3. I often wonder what others, especially non-believers think when I thank Jesus or acknowledge God in praise. Even at Church, I wonder what others would think if I got all fired up – shouting praises and dancing during worship. Does this happen to you too? Does fear or embarrassment ever hold you back from public worship of God? What can you do about it, can you step out in bold faith and praise?

4. Do you prefer to worship in a group or alone? Why? If your comfortable either way, is there someone you can encourage?

5.On a scale of 1 to 10, how concerned are you with how others view your praise and worship of God?

Very Concerned |——————–| Not Concerned
                  |1–2–3–4–5–6–7–8–9–10|

6. Write down some areas or activities where you think you can do better when it comes to praise and worship. Select one area or item and make a plan of action – work toward bold praise.

___________________________________________________

Digging Deeper: read and reflect on 1 Samuel 16:3-13. God selected David, an unlikely candidate, to become king over Isreal. What was God looking for in David as a leader? When you chose to focus on the Lord instead of worrying about what others may think, what changes do you notice in yourself? How can you sharpen your focus when distractions threaten to pull your attention away from God? God isn’t focused on the way a person looks or what people think about them. God is concerned with the heart. When we remember that, we are more able to live a life free from fear of condemnation or judgment.
             
             God’s presence melts worry and anxiety.
________________________________________________

Bonus Activity: play one of your favorite, meaningful worship songs. Let the words and music penetrate your heart, and try your hand at dancing with all your might before the Lord (you may want to find a space to be alone for this activity!).

________________________________________________

I hope you enjoyed chapter eight 🙂 I pray God spoke to you while you read this, I urge you to listen to whatever He put on your heart. I’d love your hear reflections about David and Michal’s story, your responses to the questions, and any overall feedback about this chapter review. The goal and purpose of this study is for us to grow spiritually. I pray God gives us the wisdom to provide mutually beneficial thought-provoking, Christ-like inspiration.

God bless you.

Jennifer – I Give God All The Glory

I am a daughter of God, a servant of the Lord, a wife to a patient husband, and a mama of two forgiving boys. God has placed these three men in my life needfully so. I thank Him for them everyday. And like so many of the Lord’s children, I am a work-of-glory-in-progress. I am on a journey to reclaim and renew my life in Christ. It took me 34 years to learn that when nothing else works, God does!

Posted in #bgbg2, Bible Gateway, Bible Studies, Christian Life, God, Praise, Spirit, Thankful, Trusting God: A Life Without Worry by Margaret Feinberg, Worship
14 comments on “Bible Study – Trusting God: A Life Without Worry – Chapter Eight Review
  1. Deborah says:

    Thank you for sharing your studies. I need to take some time to read this alongside my journal and write down all the things I have gleaned from this post. God bless you 🙂

    Like

  2. TeenFaith777 says:

    Thanks for posting your study’s on here. I look for them everyday. I even reread ones you have already posted!!! Thanks again!! 🙂

    Like

  3. Karen says:

    1. When we’re in the presence of God, we find rest. When we praise God, we find joy. What can you do to increase your rest and joy in the Lord?

    I want to maintain the rest and joy in the Lord that I have. What makes me feel most content in Him is making time for regular Bible reading and prayer and church. To take time to know Him and get to know Him better.

    2. David worshipped God through music and dance. What is your favorite form of worship?

    Tears. When I am able to cry freely, to cry out to Him from my heart, I feel free.

    3. I often wonder what others, especially non-believers think when I thank Jesus or acknowledge God in praise. Even at Church, I wonder what others would think if I got all fired up – shouting praises and dancing during worship. Does this happen to you too? Does fear or embarrassment ever hold you back from public worship of God? What can you do about it, can you step out in bold faith and praise?

    There are praise dancers at my church that dance beside the choir as part of the worship service almost every week. I have heard the opposite critique before – well I read it online in two separate places for singles. One a young girl wrote if a guy will not lift his hands during worship, then he is not for her. The other a guy wrote if a girl “just stands there” during worship and “doesn’t get into it” then she is not for him. 😦

    Maybe we shouldn’t be so quick to judge. Just because someone really “gets into it” during worship, does that always mean they are “into it” in their heart? Just because someone is more reserved, does that always mean they are not “into it” in their heart? Who are we to judge another. Worship should be about just that: worship. And focusing on God and God alone. If we are focusing on what others are doing or not doing or worrying about what they think of what we’re doing or not doing, are we totally focused on God and completely surrendered to Him in worship?

    4. Do you prefer to worship in a group or alone? Why? If your comfortable either way, is there someone you can encourage?

    I think I am comfortable either way. I would definitely be missing out if I only worshiped alone. Worshiping with others really feeds my spirit and encourages me. I pray that I might be a vessel through which God might encourage someone who needs encouraging.

    5.On a scale of 1 to 10, how concerned are you with how others view your praise and worship of God?
    Very Concerned |——————–| Not Concerned
    |1–2–3–4–5–6–7–8–9–10|

    10 (Not Concerned). We should all be focusing on God. “He must increase, but I must decrease.” John 3:30 It is like when Peter asked Jesus about walking on water. He had to keep his eyes on Jesus. It is when he took his eyes off Jesus that he began to sink.

    6. Write down some areas or activities where you think you can do better when it comes to praise and worship. Select one area or item and make a plan of action – work toward bold praise.

    Sometimes my mind has wandered during praise and worship in a group setting. I think maybe it would help if I closed my eyes, that way hopefully I might be less distractable. I don’t really feel I need to do better. I am not perfect but what I offer to Him, I mean to offer sincerely from my heart.

    Here is an additional thought. Does “bold” always equal “loud” and/or “demonstrative”? If God was looking at David’s heart when He was looking for a leader, wouldn’t He also look at our hearts when we are worshiping Him? In other words, while He is certainly glorified through our outward displays of worship, isn’t He more concerned with the attitudes of our hearts regardless of whether we are loud or reserved or somewhere in between?

    What was God looking for in David as a leader? When you chose to focus on the Lord instead of worrying about what others may think, what changes do you notice in yourself? How can you sharpen your focus when distractions threaten to pull your attention away from God?

    God isn’t focused on the way a person looks or what people think about them. God is concerned with the heart. When we remember that, we are more able to live a life free from fear of condemnation or judgment.

    I think what you wrote best answers the questions. God looks at the heart. I think I would just add that when we focus on the Lord, sometimes what we do does not make sense to others especially to the world. But we have to focus on Him and trust Him and His Word that He will lead us and He will guide us and He will take care of the things that don’t make sense to others (if they even need taking care of at all). Jesus said, “Follow me.” That is our job: to follow Him. Don’t turn back. Don’t turn to the right or to the left. Proverbs 4:25-27

    Thank you for this. God bless you, sister. ♥ 🙂

    Like

    • Karen,

      (#1) I too find contentment when I make God a priority. If I don’t, things (my emotions, etc.) usually go awry quickly. (#2) I like what you said about ‘tears’ as worship – I have let it all flow during prayer and when I do, I know what it feels like to cast my cares and love upon Him – truly free! (#3) Like you said, just because someone really gets into it during worship doesn’t always mean their hearts are in it or vice versa. We are to seek Him wholeheartedly, whatever ‘that’ looks like will be different for everyone indeed. (#4) Agreed, fellowship of the saints is beneficial and absolutely necessary 🙂 (#5) So true, I was just talking to my son about this subject. He feels like worship in church can be showy and forced. I told him that in all he does (sings, praises, worships, whatever) it is only for an audience of One – God. Colossians 3:23 Whatever you do, do it from the heart for the Lord and not for people. https://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Colossians%203:23&version=CEB (#6) That’s great for you! I feel like I need to praise God more in the everyday mundane things – the million things that He arranges without my knowledge. (Additonal note) Yes, to me bold means to ‘step out in more faith’ than to be ‘loud or showy’ – God is certainly more concerned with our heart motives indeed 🙂 I also like what you said about “But we have to focus on Him and trust Him and His Word that He will lead us and He will guide us and He will take care of the things that don’t make sense to others…just follow Jesus” SO TRUE!

      Thanks for this – I love our talks! God bless you.

      Jennifer

      Like

  4. Karen says:

    “If I don’t, things (my emotions, etc.) usually go awry quickly.”

    Right. In my flesh, I start to feel insecure. One verse that brings me comfort is John 14:23 “Jesus answered and said to him, “If anyone loves Me, he will keep My word; and My Father will love him, and We will come to him and make Our home with him.” NKJV The KJV says “our abode with him”. That kinda stuck with me. If I love Him, Jesus promises He and the Father make their abode with me. That makes me feel comforted and not alone.

    “I like what you said about ‘tears’ as worship”

    This is another verse that gives me comfort – Psalm 126:5 “Those who sow in tears
    Shall reap in joy.” Secret Angel wrote this really beautiful poem about tears: http://ptl2010.com/2014/06/12/he-lifts-us-up-tears/ She said, “Or maybe they are…
    tears for deep inner healings?” For me, I think they are very healing.

    “We are to seek Him wholeheartedly, whatever ‘that’ looks like will be different for everyone indeed.”

    Right. Exactly. Here are some other verses that came to me after I logged off last night – Matthew 15:8-9 “‘These people draw near to Me with their mouth,
    And honor Me with their lips,
    But their heart is far from Me.
    9 And in vain they worship Me,
    Teaching as doctrines the commandments of men.’”

    So like you said – seek Him wholeheartedly and examine our hearts before Him – so our worship – whatever it looks like – is not in vain. Whatever it looks like, may our hearts always be seeking to draw near to Him. “Draw near to God and He will draw near to you. Cleanse your hands, you sinners; and purify your hearts, you double-minded.” James 4:8

    “Agreed, fellowship of the saints is beneficial and absolutely necessary”

    Amen!!

    #5 – Good for you! You go, mama!!! 🙂 Seriously, this is such an important lesson to learn early in life. “Colossians 3:23 Whatever you do, do it from the heart for the Lord and not for people.” Amen! Amen! Amen!!! 🙂

    “That’s great for you!”

    I should clarify though that while I feel comfortable in this area, I DO need to do better in other areas!

    “I feel like I need to praise God more in the everyday mundane things – the million things that He arranges without my knowledge.”

    That makes sense.

    “Yes, to me bold means to ‘step out in more faith’”

    This clarification really helps! I think I am a little scared of the word “bold” lol. Kind of like Moses in your last study – who me? Bold? lol. I can definitely endeavor though to step out in more faith. MORE. John 15:5 “I am the vine, you are the branches. He who abides in Me, and I in him, bears much fruit; for without Me you can do nothing.” So through abiding in Him, I can bear much fruit!!

    “Thanks for this – I love our talks!”

    Me too! God bless you. 🙂

    Karen

    Like

  5. This is a great study Jennifer. One of the points that struck me is how Uzzah is so relatable in that many of us think we are doing what is right but can find ourselves working outside of God’s commandments when we make hasty decisions. Not exactly the focus of this lesson but noteworthy nonetheless. I’m glad you touched on this.

    Like

    • Yes, Uzzah is relatable indeed! His part of the story stayed me too. I can imagine the gut-wrentching horror he felt – I wouldn’t want the Ark to crash to the ground either! It’s important to remember that our gut reactions are not always the Spirit-filled wisdom we should listen to or act upon 🙂 Thanks for sharing! God bless you.

      Jennifer

      Like

Leave a Reply

