Are You Prepared For Answers To The Prayers You Pray?

image

                 Image source: believers4ever.com

“Lord, teach us to wait on you.” WOW – what a prayer!
I don’t know about you but when I read these words, I was all, “Yes, Lord, YES!” I’m guessing you did too! 🙂 We certainly mean well with all our, “More of You, less of me, empty me of myself” prayers. You probably just said a silent prayer in your heart as you read the last line – didn’t you? I know I did as I typed it! 🙂 And there is nothing wrong with that. Our Christ-centered hearts pray these words with the best intentions – we’re all, “Yes, Lord, Yes!” We wholeheartedly mean it when we say, “Lord, here I am send me!” But more often than not, we fail to count the cost of what we’re really asking. We fail to realize that in order for God to TEACH us these priceless lessons, He’s going to push us out of our comfort zone and then throw in a pop quiz.

BOOM!

Suddenly, situations that test every facet of godly character show up in our lives. Bombarded by a million kinds of crazy, some of us struggle right off the bat and give in. Others level out and learn how to keep their heads above water. But just then, another wave of overwhelming panic sets in. Wave, after wave crashes down. Harder, and harder, pushing you under. Before long, we’re drowning. We’re throwing in the towel – giving up. Our greedy hands desperately seek safety from the ultimate life raft – God. We beg, and plead with Him to put us back into the peace of our personal comfort zone.

Does that sound familiar?

Fear not, sweet soul, you’re not the only one.

I find that we’re simply unprepared for any of the discomfort that accompanies prayers like that – the God-sized prayers. Had that quote read, “Bring on the hard stuff!” or “I like trials – yippee!,” we most likely would have shuddered instead of embraced it. But the mere utterance of the words trial, hard, or test conjure a not-so-pretty picture in your mind. A picture we shy away from. Right? Right.

But there is HOPE.

God’s Word promises that nothing formed against us shall prosper (Isaiah 54:17). God can turn around everything – E.V.E.R.Y.T.H.I.N.G – that is meant to harm us and use it to our benefit (Genesis 50:20). Once we realize this Truth, we can start to embrace the hard stuff. The painful stuff. The I’m-so-scared-I-wanna-run stuff. The I’m-ready-to-give-up stuff.

1 Corinthians 10:13 No test or temptation that comes your way is beyond the course of what others have had to face. All you need to remember is that God will never let you down; He’ll never let you be pushed past your limit; He’ll always be there to help you come through it.

With God, we can pray bold prayers, we KNOW in the end we’ll be better for it. We learn to see tests and trials as answered prayers in disguise or clever tools to help us elevate to new levels of faith and Spiritual growth. They may seem to derail us but when we stand in faith and wait upon the Lord, He puts us back on track full steam ahead! 

We can learn to trust God through everything.

Isaiah 40:31 Yet those who wait for the Lord will gain new strength; they will mount up with wings like eagles, they will run and not get tired, they will walk and not become weary.

Pray the God-sized prayers with confidence. Wait in expectant hope and rejoice in every test!

God bless you.

Jennifer – I Give God All The Glory

I am a daughter of God, a servant of the Lord, a wife to a patient husband, and a mama of two forgiving boys. God has placed these three men in my life needfully so. I thank Him for them everyday. And like so many of the Lord’s children, I am a work-of-glory-in-progress. I am on a journey to reclaim and renew my life in Christ. It took me 34 years to learn that when nothing else works, God does!

Posted in #PrayerRequest, God, Heart, Hope, Inspire, Jesus, Praise, Prayer, Thank God, Trials, Wisdom
7 comments on “Are You Prepared For Answers To The Prayers You Pray?
  1. Who knows what would happen if we’d increase our faith and start praying with genuine confidence? Thanks for another great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jennifer – thanks again for participating in my Christmas Memories Giveaway! The Winner’s Post, which includes your story, has now been published!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lionel Sneed says:

    God keeps putting this scripture before me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

