Behold, I Am Doing Something New – Daily Word Buddies – #DWB2015

In 2014, during a 40-day modified fast (I’ll post about my fast later) I adopted the wonderful habit of reading the Bible and journaling first thing in the morning. It served as devoted, dedicated time between me and God. I started this by signing up to receive daily emails from Bible Gateway for the Old and New Testament reading plan. Click here to select your own Bible Gateway reading plan! If you want emails from the same plan as me select: ‘Old and New Testament, NIV version – 365 days’ – the reading plans start Jan 1st – don’t delay, sign up today!

image

Each morning, while it was still dark outside, and the house was completely silent, I’d settle into God’s presence with my Bible Gateway daily email (on my mobile device) and journal. I began to write out snippets of verses and things that jumped off the page at me. That led to longer notes (themes and stories) on verses. Which led to writing a combination of line by line, verse by verse, snippets, and detailed notes of the Gospels of Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John. Which led to a Word for Word written record of the Book of Revelation. Let me just tell you now…WOW! I wish I had listened when others said how powerful this process was! I see why so many people suggest it! This is why I strongly encourage everyone to give it a 40-day trial (I’ll touch more on this in a later post).

Yes, it required me to get up an hour or two earlier every day but it is so worth it! Of course, it took a while to get used to and bedtimes had to be adjusted. It was at least a few weeks before my body was accustomed to the new routine. But I am not sleep deprived. My internal clock is in tip-top shape now! I actually have more energy. Despite, what you may be thinking, I did not heap more demands on an already overloaded schedule, it’s quite the opposite. I actually have much more time on my hands and my days are longer. In fact, many days I have extra time to do even more Bible study throughout the day.

As part of my #GiftsToGod2015 commitment, I am continuing this daily reading and writing process into the new year. I will read through, meditate on, and roll over, Word by Word, line by line, verse by verse using Bible Gateway Old and New Testament, NIV version, 365 daily email plan. Then, I will post my reflections here. Which is exactly why I’m reaching out to you today…

Do you want to be Daily Word Buddies? DWB has a special ring to it, doesn’t it?! Do you want to join the DWB crew? Do ya?

We can be daily Word buddies, just sign up for a Bible Gateway reading plan or use whatever plan you desire. Then as I post each day, you can share your reflections and insight in here as well. It doesn’t have to be a lot, it could be a few words (whatever works for you ). It’s just to share and encourage one another. If you like this idea but can’t join now, don’t worry! Life gets crazy busy sometimes. Kids, house, and jobs tend to take over – I totally get it! Don’t throw in the towel just yet! Please stick around and feel free to follow along by reading my Scripture reflections. If you at some point you feel led to join – awesome! The great things about Bible Gateway plans is that they start January 1st but allow you to jump in anytime thoughout the year. Also, we’ll use #DWB2015 on social media to share and connect with other participants. 

The Word of God deserves our dedicated attention and personal devotion- let’s do this together!

John 1:1 In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.

Proverbs 30:5 Every Word of God proves true; He is a shield to those who take refuge in Him.

Hebrews 4:12 For the Word of God is living and active, sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing to the division of soul and of spirit, of joints and of marrow, and discerning the thoughts and intentions of the heart.

Matthew 24:35 Heaven and earth will pass away, but My Words will not pass away.

Oh, I am excited for this! I hope your are too! I am praying God’s Holy Spirit guides us to new levels of faith as we live together in His Word in 2015.

God bless!

Jennifer – I Give God All The Glory

I am a daughter of God, a servant of the Lord, a wife to a patient husband, and a mama of two forgiving boys. God has placed these three men in my life needfully so. I thank Him for them everyday. And like so many of the Lord’s children, I am a work-of-glory-in-progress. I am on a journey to reclaim and renew my life in Christ. It took me 34 years to learn that when nothing else works, God does!

Posted in #DWB2015, Bible, Bible Gateway, Bible Studies, Christian Life, Daily Word Buddies, God, Jesus, Meditation, Sharing His Word

Leave a Reply

