Daily Word Buddies – January 10 2015 – #DWB2015

image

Today’s reading: Bible Gateway Old/New Testament 365 Reading Plan January 10 2015

Today’s Old Testament reflection: Genesis 25-26

The Death of Abraham – Genesis 25 | Abraham died at 175 years old, although he had remarried (Katurah), Isaac and Ishmael buried him with Sarah in a cave at Hebron in the land of Canaan. I was glad to see Isaac and Ishmael reunited. v.11 After Abraham died, Isaac lived near the well at the place Hagar named “Beer Lahai Roi – the God who sees me – Genesis 16:13. v.12-18 God is faithful – as promised, God blessed Ishmael just as He said He would, with lots of descendants – the 12 tribal rulers who lived in hostility with their relatives. v.19-23 when Rebekah couldn’t get pregnant, Isaac prayed for God’s help and intervention and God answered his prayer – problems = prayer. When Rebekah was pregnant and had pregnancy/health concerns, she went to God in prayer. God answered her – questions = prayer. See also Philippians 4:6. v.24-34 Jacob (means deceives or graps heel) and Esau (means hairy) – that was an expensive stew. Imagine giving away everything you have for a cup of soup?! Esau must have been starving! Jacob’s request for Esau to sell him his birthright carried along God’s plan that the older son will serve the younger one (Genesis 25:23).

Isaac and Abimelek – Genesis 26 | v.1-11 deja vu of Genesis 20 with Abraham and Abimelek – like father, like son! v.12 reminded me of Matthew 13:23 and Mark 4:20. v.22 Like his father Abraham, Isaac praised, acknowledged, and called on God continually. v.34-35 there are so many different and unexpected topics in the Bible. Yes, daughter-in-law drama is one of them.

Today’s New Testament reflection: Matthew 8:1-17

Jesus Heals a Man With Leprosy – Matthew 8:1 | a few key points on this stuck out to me:
1) the man came to Jesus – acknowledged his weakness and need for divine intervention. 
2) the man knelt before Jesus – sign a honor, humility, and respect.
3) the man verbalized his request while seeking Jesus’ Will above his own – ‘IF You are willing,’ ‘You CAN make me clean’ – this demonstrates his faith. He knew that Jesus was able but wanted Jesus’ will to be done.
With one touch, Jesus said, “I am Willing. Be clean!” and the man was immediately cleansed (healed).
Faith is key.

The Faith of the Centurion – Matthew 8:5-13 | as with the above section, a few key points on this one also stuck out to me:
1) the Centurion came to Jesus and asked Him to help his servant – acknowledged his weakness and need for divine intervention. 
2) when Jesus offered to come heal the servant, the Centurion demonstrates his faith by saying, “Nah, you don’t need to go through all that Jesus. I know you can simply say the Word and my servant will be healed!” (I paraphrased v.8-9 ). This amazed Jesus and He told the Centurion, “Go! Let it be done just as you believed it would.” And his servant was healed that moment! Wow! Can you imagine having the kind of faith that amazes Jesus?! Oh, God, increase my faith like the Centurion. I want to amaze Jesus with my faith!
With one touch, Jesus said, “I am Willing. Be clean!” and the man was immediately cleansed (healed).
Faith is key.

Jesus Heals Many – Matthew 8:14-17 | Jesus healed Peter’s mother-in-law’s fever with one touch. He drove spirits out from the demon-possessed with one word and healed all the sick to fulfill Isaiah 53:4.

                ________________________________

Now, it’s your turn to get involved – your turn to take action! Are you ready? 
               

                           《—-Start here—-》

A) What popped off the page at you? Share your reflections and insights from these passages in the comments below.
B) Share your reflections and insights from your own daily scripture study – include book, chapter, and verse.
D) Go public – make an announcement on social media using #DWB2015. This will be an easy way to find and connect with other participants – iron sharpens iron!

Please join in and encourage one another – sharing is caring!   

                   ________________________________          

Jesus, thank You for helping me complete today’s post. I’m way early on my 6PM CST submission goal! Yay! Ahead of schedule again today! Thank you Jesus!

                   ________________________________

I hope you enjoyed day 10 🙂 I pray God spoke to you while you read this, I urge you to listen to whatever He put on your heart. I’d love to hear your thoughts and feedback. The goal and purpose of Bible study is for us to grow spiritually. I pray God gives us the wisdom to provide mutually beneficial thought-provoking, Christ-like inspiration.

God bless you all!

Jennifer – I Give God All The Glory

I am a daughter of God, a servant of the Lord, a wife to a patient husband, and a mama of two forgiving boys. God has placed these three men in my life needfully so. I thank Him for them everyday. And like so many of the Lord’s children, I am a work-of-glory-in-progress. I am on a journey to reclaim and renew my life in Christ. It took me 34 years to learn that when nothing else works, God does!

Posted in #DWB2015, #GiftsToGod2015, Bible, Bible Gateway, Bible Studies, Daily Word Buddies, God, Jesus, Meditation

Leave a Reply

