Daily Word Buddies – January 11 2015 – #DWB2015

image

Today’s reading: Bible Gateway Old/New Testament 365 Reading Plan January 11 2015

Today’s Old Testament reflection: Genesis 27-28

Jacob Takes Esau’s Blessing {continued} – Genesis 27 |
v.27-39 blessing our children is very important. Can you imagine speaking such words over our babies?! We should pray and prophecy God’s Words over our children. We should call forth God’s promises in the lives of our children, so that they may be poured upon them through our faith. v.46 the daughter-in-law drama again, see 28.

Jacob Takes Esau’s Blessing {continued} – Genesis 27-28 | in 27:46 the daughter-in-law drama surfaced again but this time v.6-9 Esau saw how unhappy his parents were with his choice of wives. He tried to make it better by marrying again (3 wives total – 2 previous Canaanites and 1 new of Ishmael’s daughters). v.11 Jacob used a stone for a pillow! This made me chuckle because I’ve said, “This pillow is as hard as a rock!” all the while groaning in protest and threatening to toss my less than comfortable ball of fluff straight out the window! Probably more than once too! Here Jacob is literally using ‘a rock’ as a pillow and he seems happy about it. Lord, help me appreciate what I have. Help me be thankful for everything you’ve given me. v.15 I felt the power of this promise and highlighted it in my Bible. v.17 I love seeing the word ‘awesome’ in the Bible! v.18 Especially, when it’s referring to the House of God (Bethel). v.20-22 This is an important 6 point vow that we can make in our own lives! 1) God is with me (Psalm 118:6, Isaiah 41:10). 2) God will provide (Matthew 6:25-34, Philippians 4:19). 3) God will protect me (Psalm 121:7). 4) I am His and He is my God (Exodus 6:7, Leviticus 26:1, Jeremiah 24:7;30:22). 5) Give to God (Proverbs 3:9, 2 Corinthians 9:6-12). 6) Christ is the Cornerstone Matthew 16:18, Ephesians 2:20).

Today’s New Testament reflection: Matthew 8:1-34

The Cost of Following Jesus – Matthew 8:1:18-22 | Perhaps, giving up what you have – finances, inheritance, home and belongings, putting God first, being in the world but not of it.

Jesus Calms the Storm – Matthew 8:23-27 | v.25 “Lord save us!” v.26 “you of little faith, why are you so afraid?” They, like us sometimes, have no faith in who Jesus is and what He can do. See also Matthew 6:25-34 on not worrying.

Jesus Restores Two Demon-possessed Men Heals – Matthew 8:28-34 | What I noticed here is that the demons knew 1) who Jesus is, 2) that there’s an appointed time that Jesus will come to punish them 3) that Jesus could completely destory them if He chose to. As in the other cases, Jesus drove the demons out with one Word! – oh, the power of God’s Word!

                ________________________________

Now, it’s your turn to get involved – your turn to take action! Are you ready? 
              

                           《—-Start here—-》

A) What popped off the page at you? Share your reflections and insights from these passages in the comments below.
B) Share your reflections and insights from your own daily scripture study – include book, chapter, and verse.
D) Go public – make an announcement on social media using #DWB2015. This will be an easy way to find and connect with other participants – iron sharpens iron!

Please join in and encourage one another – sharing is caring!  

                   ________________________________         

Jesus, thank You for helping me complete today’s post. I’m a few hours behind my 6PM CST submission goal but I thank You Jesus for allowing me to get it done today. I love You God!

                   ________________________________

I hope you enjoyed day 11 🙂 I pray God spoke to you while you read this, I urge you to listen to whatever He put on your heart. I’d love to hear your thoughts and feedback. The goal and purpose of Bible study is for us to grow spiritually. I pray God gives us the wisdom to provide mutually beneficial thought-provoking, Christ-like inspiration.

God bless you all!

Jennifer – I Give God All The Glory

I am a daughter of God, a servant of the Lord, a wife to a patient husband, and a mama of two forgiving boys. God has placed these three men in my life needfully so. I thank Him for them everyday. And like so many of the Lord’s children, I am a work-of-glory-in-progress. I am on a journey to reclaim and renew my life in Christ. It took me 34 years to learn that when nothing else works, God does!

Posted in #DWB2015, #GiftsToGod2015, Bible, Bible Gateway, Bible Studies, Daily Word Buddies, God, Jesus, Meditation

Leave a Reply

