Daily Word Buddies – January 15 2015 – #DWB2015

image

Today’s reading: Bible Gateway Old/New Testament 365 Reading Plan January 15 2015

Today’s Old Testament reflection: Genesis 36-38

Esau’s Descendants – Genesis 36:1-31 | no commentary/response today

The Rulers of Edom – Genesis 36:31-41 | no commentary/response today

Jacob Returns to Bethel – Genesis 37:1-11 | v.2 sounds like he tattled on his brothers but whether for good or bad reasons, it caused hostility. v.3  favoritism fueled his brothers hate. v.5 dream to rule over them further enraged them. v. 9-10 another dream provoked his father but deep down I think his dad knew Joseph was to rule over them.

Judah and Tamar – Genesis 38 | v. 6-7 death, God’s punishment – this is chilling. v.9 another punishment from God.

Today’s New Testament reflection: Matthew 10:21- 42

Jesus Sends the Twelve {cont.} – Matthew 10:21-42 | v.21 family member vs. family member – believe or not
v.22 hated for Jesus – perseverance.
v.23 flee when persecuted.
v.24 student to be like teacher – not above.
v.26-31 don’t be afraid.
v.32-33 acknowledge Jesus to others.
v.34-36 Jesus came to draw a line – believe or not.
v.37 anyone who loves their family more than Jesus is not worthy of Him.
v.38 whoever doesn’t take their cross and follow Jesus is not worthy of Him.
v.39 whoever seeks their life for their own sake will lose it and whoever loses it through Jesus, will find it.
v.40-42 rewards anyone who receives those who come in Jesus’ name.

                ________________________________

Now, it’s your turn to get involved – your turn to take action! Are you ready? 
           

                           《—-Start here—-》

A) What popped off the page at you? Share your reflections and insights from these passages in the comments below.
B) Share your reflections and insights from your own daily scripture study – include book, chapter, and verse.
D) Go public – make an announcement on social media using #DWB2015. This will be an easy way to find and connect with other participants – iron sharpens iron!

Please join in and encourage one another – sharing is caring!

                   ________________________________      

Thank You Jesus for helping me complete today’s post. It has been an ‘off’ kind of day – total mental fog, tired, and sloth like. Oh, how I strained to hear His voice today. My commentary suffered as well. It is truly ONLY with GOD’s help that I made my 6PM CST submission goal today! Even though I wasn’t ‘feeling it’ today, I know my God is always with me, and He always comforts me.

   I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

                   ________________________________

I hope you enjoyed day 15 🙂 I pray God spoke to you while you read this, I urge you to listen to whatever He put on your heart. I’d love to hear your thoughts and feedback. The goal and purpose of Bible study is for us to grow spiritually. I pray God gives us the wisdom to provide mutually beneficial thought-provoking, Christ-like inspiration.

God bless you all!

Jennifer – I Give God All The Glory

I am a daughter of God, a servant of the Lord, a wife to a patient husband, and a mama of two forgiving boys. God has placed these three men in my life needfully so. I thank Him for them everyday. And like so many of the Lord’s children, I am a work-of-glory-in-progress. I am on a journey to reclaim and renew my life in Christ. It took me 34 years to learn that when nothing else works, God does!

Posted in #DWB2015, #GiftsToGod2015, Bible, Bible Gateway, Bible Studies, Daily Word Buddies, God, Jesus, Meditation
2 comments on “Daily Word Buddies – January 15 2015 – #DWB2015
  1. God has a particular but unparticular way of brinfing peace and love to us, huh? LOL.. Namaste

    Like

Leave a Reply

