Daily Word Buddies – January 16 2015 – #DWB2015

image

Today’s reading: Bible Gateway Old/New Testament 365 Reading Plan January 16 2015

Today’s Old Testament reflection: Genesis 39-40

Joseph and Potiphar’s Wife – Genesis 39 | v.2 God was with him in slavery and later in prison. v.3 God’s hand and favor was on Joseph’s life so clearly. Even Potiphar noticed God at work. v.4 Potiphar trusted Joseph with all he had. v.5 Potiphar benefited – God blessed his house and field because of Joseph. v.6 Joseph kept Potiphar’s entire household in order, Potiphar had only one concern – what to eat! But God says we shouldn’t even worry about that (Matthew 6:25-34). v.7-18 Time and time again, Joseph withstood temptation from Potiphar’s wife. Joseph was just and upright, he recognized his position of authority and operated with trust and honesty, he also knew it would be a wicked sin against God to cheat with her. She advanced one final time – she made her demands and seized him by his cloak (his outer garment). This must have been super awkward! The text doesn’t say how close she got or how forceful she was but I imagine he pleaded with her to let him go and to stop. We do know he ran out of there so fast, he left behind the cloak still in her hands. He was probably thinking “Phew! Crisis averted!” Boy, was he wrong! Potiphar’s wife acted like a spoiled child who didn’t get their way – she lied on him and Potiphar threw Jospeh in jail. v.19 Although Potiphar put him in prision (he was innocent) God was with Joseph (just like before v.2-3) and he prospered in all he did. This shows me that even when I do the right thing, I can get an unfavorable or hurtful result but I dont have to worry because God is with me and in control of it all.

The Cupbearer and the Baker – Genesis 40 | v.5-23 Joseph’s dream interpretations (Gift from God) came in handy. They wanted to hear what he had to say. Joseph acknowledged God as the source of his wisdom, recognized it comes from God. “Remember me when…” – how many times have we done this? How many times have we forgotten about someone who helped us greatly? Sure, we had the best intentions, we meant to repay the favor or do what they required of us but once we got our way, once we were satisfied we disregarded or forgot about them. We acted like the Cupbearer! Lord, please help me not act like that. Help me overpay favor and not forget any help given to me.

Today’s New Testament reflection: Matthew 11

Jesus and John the Baptist  – Matthew 11 | v.2. John wanted to know if Jesus was the One – the text doesn’t say that Jesus gave a definitive ‘Yes’ (we know He IS) but it does say He told John’s disciples to go back and tell John of all Jesus is doing – His Works! You will know them by their fruit (Matthew 7:15-20). v.7 Jesus confirmed who John the Baptist was (Malachi 3:1). v.11 None born of a woman is greater than John. v.13 all the Prophets and Law prophesied until John – perhaps, the fulfillment of Elijah’s prophecies. v.16-17 generation of entertainment and sign seekers. v.18-19 John restricted his diet and they thought he was possessed. Jesus ate and drank and they called him a drunk who kept bad company. But “Wisdom is proved right by her deeds.” – you’ll know them by their fruit!   

                ________________________________

Now, it’s your turn to get involved – your turn to take action! Are you ready? 
          

                           γ€Š—-Start here—-》

A) What popped off the page at you? Share your reflections and insights from these passages in the comments below.
B) Share your reflections and insights from your own daily scripture study – include book, chapter, and verse.
D) Go public – make an announcement on social media using #DWB2015. This will be an easy way to find and connect with other participants – iron sharpens iron!

Please join in and encourage one another – sharing is caring!

                   ________________________________     

Thank You Jesus for helping me complete today’s post. Thank you Jesus for helping me focus today. I was much better and more alert today. I heard You today! I am thankful to make my 6PM CST submission goal today – with hours to spare! All glory to God!

                   ________________________________

I hope you enjoyed day 16 πŸ™‚ I pray God spoke to you while you read this, I urge you to listen to whatever He put on your heart. I’d love to hear your thoughts and feedback. The goal and purpose of Bible study is for us to grow spiritually. I pray God gives us the wisdom to provide mutually beneficial thought-provoking, Christ-like inspiration.

God bless you all!

Jennifer – I Give God All The Glory

I am a daughter of God, a servant of the Lord, a wife to a patient husband, and a mama of two forgiving boys. God has placed these three men in my life needfully so. I thank Him for them everyday. And like so many of the Lord’s children, I am a work-of-glory-in-progress. I am on a journey to reclaim and renew my life in Christ. It took me 34 years to learn that when nothing else works, God does!

Posted in #DWB2015, #GiftsToGod2015, Bible, Bible Gateway, Bible Studies, Daily Word Buddies, God, Jesus, Meditation

Leave a Reply

