Daily Word Buddies – January 17 2015 – #DWB2015

image

Today’s reading: Bible Gateway Old/New Testament 365 Reading Plan January 17 2015

Today’s Old Testament reflection: Genesis 41-42

Pharaoh’s Dreams – Genesis 41:1-40 | v.1-8 2 years later – God has a purpose for Joseph’s gift and ways to use it. v.9 Cupbearer remembered his shortcomings – ya think?? v.16  Jospeh knew it was not him but God that gives knowledge and wisdom. v.25-32 with God Joseph interpreted the dreams. v.33-37 who wiser than Joseph? Pharaoh recognized God at work in Joseph. “Can we find anyone like this man, one in whom is the Spirit of God?” v.39 after years of slavery and imprisonment, in one day Joseph went from the pit to the palace. God was still with Joseph through it all.

Joseph in Charge of Egypt – Genesis 41:41-57 | v.42 2nd in command of all under Pharaoh – lavish living. v.44 new name, wife, and life. v.46 in Genesis 37:2 Joseph was 17, now 30 – he’s spent almost 1/2 his life in slavery, or prison. v.49 just like God said abundant. v.50-52 had 2 sons (Manasseh and Ephraim) and acknowledged God.

Joseph’s Brother’s Go to Egypt – Genesis 42 | v.4 Jacob favored Benjamin, Rachel’s other son, like he had favored Joseph. v.6-9 Joseph’s dream came to pass. v.21 funny how they put that together. v.24 hard for Joseph to watch – wept. v.38 God is in control and His Will will prevail. Imagine how bleak things must have looked to them – only accounting for what they can see and everything seems to be against them.

Today’s New Testament reflection: Matthew 12:1-23

Jesus is Lord of the Sabbath  – Matthew 12:1-23 | v.1 Jesus accused of gathering food on the Sabbath. v.2 religious leaders frowned on what Jesus did. v.3-8 Jesus schooled them in the Word of God – mercy not sacrifice (Hosea 6:6). v.11 always lawful to do good!

God’s Chosen Servant  – Matthew 12:15-21 | aware that the Pharisees were trying to kill Him Jesus fleed from that place – smart! Fulfillment of Isaiah 42:1-4

Jesus and Beelzebul – Matthew 12:22-23 | Jesus healed a demon-possessed, blind, and mute man.

                ________________________________

Now, it’s your turn to get involved – your turn to take action! Are you ready? 
         

                           《—-Start here—-》

A) What popped off the page at you? Share your reflections and insights from these passages in the comments below.
B) Share your reflections and insights from your own daily scripture study – include book, chapter, and verse.
D) Go public – make an announcement on social media using #DWB2015. This will be an easy way to find and connect with other participants – iron sharpens iron!

Please join in and encourage one another – sharing is caring!

                   ________________________________    

So, missed my 6PM CST submission goal today because…well, to be honest, I completely forgot! If you would’ve asked me an hour ago if I had completed this post I would have said, “YES!” For some odd reason I thought I had! Thank You Jesus for correcting my thinking and helping me get it done despite myself! Glory to God!

                   ________________________________

I hope you enjoyed day 17 🙂 I pray God spoke to you while you read this, I urge you to listen to whatever He put on your heart. I’d love to hear your thoughts and feedback. The goal and purpose of Bible study is for us to grow spiritually. I pray God gives us the wisdom to provide mutually beneficial thought-provoking, Christ-like inspiration.

God bless you all!

Jennifer – I Give God All The Glory

I am a daughter of God, a servant of the Lord, a wife to a patient husband, and a mama of two forgiving boys. God has placed these three men in my life needfully so. I thank Him for them everyday. And like so many of the Lord’s children, I am a work-of-glory-in-progress. I am on a journey to reclaim and renew my life in Christ. It took me 34 years to learn that when nothing else works, God does!

Posted in #DWB2015, #GiftsToGod2015, Bible, Bible Gateway, Bible Studies, Daily Word Buddies, God, Jesus, Meditation

Leave a Reply

