Daily Word Buddies – January 18 2015 – #DWB2015

image

Today’s reading: Bible Gateway Old/New Testament 365 Reading Plan January 18 2015

Today’s Old Testament reflection: Genesis 43-45

The Second Journey to Egypt – Genesis 43 | v.14 Israel finally gave it over to God’s sovereign hand and accepted whatever He allows. v.23 your God is with you. v.26 bowed to Joseph – just as his dream had shown him.

A Silver Cup in a Sack – Genesis 44 | v.1I am not sure if Joseph came up with another way to see them or if he was just toying with them. v.13 torn robes at the thought of Benjamin being held as a slave. v.25 that’s not really what Israel said – he left some parts out. v.31 Israel’s life is so closely bound up with Benjamin’s life, that if he should die, Israel would die as well. This reminds me how strong a parental or grandparent’s bond with their child is. It is important for us, though we love our children/grandchildren, we should not bind our lives up so tightly with anything other than God. Had Abraham felt the same as Israel he would not have passed God’s test (Genesis 22, Matthew 10:37).

Joseph Makes Himself Known – Genesis 45 | v.5-7 do not be distressed God had work for me to do. v.8-11 God planned all this – come live here and let me provide for you according to God’s plan. v.16-20 abundant provision. v.22 Benjamin given 5x more – Joseph also showed favoritism. v.24 don’t quarrel on the way – don’t make the same mistakes – a good life is before you all. v.27 Israel was revived – Jesus is life. Lord, let my life be so intimately tied up in Jesus that nothing in this world can shake me – let Jesus be my identity.

Today’s New Testament reflection: Matthew 12:24-50

Jesus and Beelzebul {cont.} – Matthew 12:24-37 | v.24 the Pharisees belittled the works of Jesus by thinking He was on the enemy’s team. v.25-29 Jesus knew their thoughts, you’d think that would be a type of proof for them. Jesus said truths they didnt want to admit. v.30 whoever is not with Him scatters – reminds me of His arrest. v.31 All sin forgiven except one – unbelief. v.33 recognized by their fruit. v.34 Jesus called them out – the mouth speaks what the heart is full of, out of good comes good, out of evil comes evil. {What kinds of things do I say?} v.36 all will give an account of every empty (idle) word they have spoken. v.37 by our words we will be acquitted or condemned. {the words we speak are important.

The Sign of Jonah – Matthew 12:38-45 | v.38 wanted signs of proof. v.40 only His resurrection (3 days, 3 nights). v.43 unclean spirit tries to enter again – this part confuses me a bit, I’m not quite sure where He is going with this or how it correlates.

Jesus’ Mother and Brothers – Matthew 12:46-50 | my mom and bros are whoever does the will of God.

                ________________________________

Now, it’s your turn to get involved – your turn to take action! Are you ready? 
         

                           《—-Start here—-》

A) What popped off the page at you? Share your reflections and insights from these passages in the comments below.
B) Share your reflections and insights from your own daily scripture study – include book, chapter, and verse.
D) Go public – make an announcement on social media using #DWB2015. This will be an easy way to find and connect with other participants – iron sharpens iron!

Please join in and encourage one another – sharing is caring!

                   ________________________________    

Thank You Jesus – I made my 6PM CST submission goal today! YES!

                   ________________________________

I hope you enjoyed day 18 🙂 I pray God spoke to you while you read this, I urge you to listen to whatever He put on your heart. I’d love to hear your thoughts and feedback. The goal and purpose of Bible study is for us to grow spiritually. I pray God gives us the wisdom to provide mutually beneficial thought-provoking, Christ-like inspiration.

God bless you all!

Jennifer – I Give God All The Glory

I am a daughter of God, a servant of the Lord, a wife to a patient husband, and a mama of two forgiving boys. God has placed these three men in my life needfully so. I thank Him for them everyday. And like so many of the Lord’s children, I am a work-of-glory-in-progress. I am on a journey to reclaim and renew my life in Christ. It took me 34 years to learn that when nothing else works, God does!

Posted in #DWB2015, #GiftsToGod2015, Bible, Bible Gateway, Bible Studies, Daily Word Buddies, God, Jesus, Meditation
4 comments on “Daily Word Buddies – January 18 2015 – #DWB2015
  1. Terese says:

    I often wonder if Abraham would have still willingly sacrificed Isaac if God had not told him nations would come through Isaac. Great reminder for us not to bind ourselves to anything but God, even our family. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good point! I can’t imagine Abraham’s thought process during that time. Oh, the weight of those thoughts – God’s promises/commands vs. our immense weakness/fears. Thank God we can always trust Him, I don’t know what what or where we’d be without Him!

      God bless you!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. The True Light! says:

    Hi Jennifer! Wow…how have you been? Long time since we talked…hope all is good with you. I figured you spent most of your time on Twitter now, so it’s good to see you back here on WP.

    When you get a chance, let me hear how you’re doing!

    Steve

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Steve! It indeed has been a long time 🙂 I have been consumed by life for the past few months. Haven’t had much interaction on social media channels either 😦 I miss my cyber family and the Christlike love that abounds here! I’d appreciate prayers as I enter a new season of life and strength in Christ for come what may 🙂 But enough about me, how have you been brother?

      All blessings in Him 🙂

      Jennifer

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

