Got Questions? – The Bible Has Answers

They…
They found joy.
They have financial provision.
They received healing.
They found peace.
They got their breakthrough.

I sat back and thought, ‘See, it’s not that hard, these people said they just gave it {their problem} to God and it all worked out or things just happened for them.

Sound familiar? Ever hear a spiritual success story and wonder, ‘What am I doing wrong? Or Why doesn’t this work for me?

I think we fail to realize that what these people share with us is but a tiny peek into their actual spiritual journey. They share the end results. They boil down thousands of hours of ups and downs into a few bullet points. In reality, they probably tried tons and tons of things that we never hear about. In truth, we each have a specific God-given purpose and what works for one person may not work for you. We’re all different but we have some things in common.

We all have questions…

How can I quiet my mind?

How can I love others?

How can I have sustained peace?

How can I stop worrying?

How can I be more like Christ?

How can I be more patient?

… and we all want answers.

I don’t know about you but I’ve Googled the above questions. And if we’re being honest you’ve most likely wondered too, probably Googled them yourself. The funny part is not that I’ve attempted to find answers online, the funny part is that I’ve searched for answers to the same questions over and over. The solutions provided, however well meaning and helpful, were never what I was looking for. Did you catch that? ‘What I was looking for’ was an easy way out, a one step action plan, a quick means to an end. Any of the solutions that required work and diligent effort got pushed aside. I was spiritually lazy. I don’t know what was quicker, my failure rate or realizing what worked for ‘this person’ or ‘that person’ was not working for me. The easy way out taught me how to hide my problems under the rug. The easy way taught me how to fail.

The Word of God taught me how to win.

Sweet Souls, eventually I learned that the Bible is all the guidance I need. Every solution for every matter under the sun is covered there – if you can’t find your direct topic, trust me, there as an indirect answer.

Example:

Q: How to deal with a not-so-nice stranger, parent, sibling, or in-law?

If you didn’t know that Jesus tells us to love unconditionally, and treat everyone how we want to be treated, you’ll search the Bible, finding references here and there, but you probably won’t find the topic directly listed in your concordance. It requires time and effort – work.

This leaves us wanting and impatient. Instead of digging deeper into God’s Word, we end up looking outside the Bible for quick solutions – Google, books, etc. We look to someone who has done the leg work and herein lies another problem. We think it’s as easy as reading the solution and, ‘presto, problem solved!‘ Now hey, there are tons of resources available to us at any given second, many of which are written by mature Christians devoted to helping others walk in Christ. This is great – iron shapens iron! These tools can be helpful aides but they cannot do the work for you and they certainly cannot take the place of personal Bible study. They also require a level of responsibility and application effort. It all comes back to us. We still need to get things done.

So, we’re back to square one.

Us and God.

But it’s not a total setback.

Sweet Souls, we’ve learned a few things…

1) The Bible has an answer to every solution we face.

2) We need to take personal responsibility for our lives.

But here’s is the final key – the end all, be all – Jesus!

John 1:14 The Word became flesh and made His dwelling among us. We have seen His glory, the glory of the one and only Son, who came from the Father, full of grace and truth.

Jesus is the Word…

Isaiah 40:8 “…The grass withers and the flowers fall, but the word of our God endures forever.”

…and the Word endures forever.

4) Jesus is perfect. He is the Word. If we want to be better Christians, we must be more like Jesus and full of the Word. If we know the Word, we’ll have the answers we need and know how to apply it to our livesto see lasting change.

_____________________________________________________

I’d love to hear from you. What questions do you struggle with? Do you have personal helps or experience you’d like to share? Remember iron sharpens iron – let’s help each other.

God bless you.

Jennifer – I Give God All The Glory

I am a daughter of God, a servant of the Lord, a wife to a patient husband, and a mama of two forgiving boys. God has placed these three men in my life needfully so. I thank Him for them everyday. And like so many of the Lord’s children, I am a work-of-glory-in-progress. I am on a journey to reclaim and renew my life in Christ. It took me 34 years to learn that when nothing else works, God does!

Posted in Bible, Christian Life, Confidence, God, Hope, Inspire, Jesus, Resources, Wisdom
3 comments on “Got Questions? – The Bible Has Answers
  1. I’ve been here a million times. It’s not that I question God’s authority or his power. I do question my ability to interpret his voice and his will and his purpose for my life. So I do ask the same questions over and over. If I’m supposed to do this, why aren’t you (God) giving me insight into how to do it? I think most of my questions are about my purpose.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yep. My purpose was a big one for me – for a long time. First, I felt like I needed ‘the map‘ to find my way but then I realized I had a TON of spiritual growing to do before He’d even hand me the keys to the car, let alone the Kingdom. Then, I found myself writing the ‘Renew my Life’ guide to help others learn from my experiences and to help them find their way – the task seems endless. Society says now – immediately but I feel like God says wait. Then, idleness makes me wonder if what I’m doing is what God wants for me. I also feel like when we don’t see His ‘help’ He actually wants us keep trying, just doing what we can – plugging away. So, in the meantime, I’m going to keep growing and learning, and conforming to Christ. Whatever He wants, He gets. I know He’ll work it all out in His time. I’m just along for the amazing ride. It really is funny though…we all have questions!
      It’s a real pleasure talking with you, Jane.
      God bless.
      Jennifer

      Liked by 1 person

  2. The True Light! says:

    Hi Jennifer! How are you doing? I hope things are getting sorted out in your life. Give me an update when you can! I think about you from time to time and miss your posts!

    Steve

    Like

Leave a Reply

