Daily Word Buddies – January 22 2015 – #DWB2015

image

Today’s reading: Bible Gateway Old/New Testament 365 Reading Plan January 22 2015

Today’s Old Testament reflection: Exodus 4-6

Signs for Moses – Exodus 4:1-17 | v.1-5 staff=snake. 6-7 hand, made leprous then healed. 8-9 Nile=blood. v.10-12 “but God…”Moses felt inadequate in speech, unqualified. I love what God says to him in response to his lack of faith, “Who gave human beings their mouths? Who makes them deaf or mute? Who gives them sight or makes them blind? Is it not I, the Lord? Now go; I will help you speak and will teach you what to say.” v.13 even the Lord Himself spoke confidence into Moses but he chose to respond with another “but God…” v.14-16 this finally angered God and he decided to send Aaron (Moses’ bro) as a mouthpiece for Moses. v.17 Moses to perform signs.

Moses Returns to Egypt – Exodus 4:18-31 | v.20 staff of God v.21 more instruction from God v.23 when Pharaoh won’t let them go, God will take the life his newborn son. v.24-26 God was about to kill Moses?? Why? I assume that Moses did not circumcise his son as he should have but more details are not really given. God would have known this from the beginning. I thought this is something that would have been mentioned when God gave Moses instructions?? Did I miss something? v.27-28 God brought Aaron to Moses – Mt. Of God v.29-30 met with Israelite tribe elders, informed them of God’s plan. They accepted it.

Bricks Without Straw – Exodus 5:1-21 | v.1-3 Moses and Aaron told Pharaoh to let God’s people go and worship Him – 3 day journey. v.4-14 Pharaoh said, “no,” and hardened their labor. v.15-20 and the Isrealite overseers were beaten. Appealed to Pharaoh for mercy to no avail. So they were upset with Moses and Aaron and wanted God to judge them for bringing Pharaoh’s harsh treatment upon them.

God Promises Deliverance – Exodus 5:22-6:1-12 | v.22-23 Things were worse for the Israelites and God hadn’t rescued them yet – Moses sought God’s guidance as to why this was happening. 6:1:12 See what God will do – He reassured Moses of His plan for them. I love what He says in v.6-8, “I am the Lord, and I will bring you out…I will free you…I will redeem you…I will take you as my own people…I will be your God…you will know that I am the Lord your God…I will bring you to the land I swore…I will give it to you as a possession. I am the Lord.” v.9-12 due to their circumstances – what they saw – the Israelites lost faith in what Moses said but God told Moses to go back to Pharaoh. Again Moses doubted God and asked his fast and famous words, “but God….”

Family Record of Moses and Aaron – Exodus 6:13-30 | v. 13-30 clans and tribes of Israel v.28 Moses yet again says, “but God….” – I can hardly believe this is the same man to whom we refer the ‘Law of Moses’ or the same man referred to in Hall of Faith in Hebrews 11:23-29.

Today’s New Testament reflection: Matthew 14:22-36

Jesus Walks on the Water – Matthew 14:22-36 | v.22 Jesus sent the disciples ahead of Him (on a boat) and He dismissed the crowds. v.23 He went to pray by Himself – nighttime, alone. v.24 boat was pretty far out ready, wind helped push it further and further out. v.25 “before dawn Jesus went out to them, walking on the water.” – take that in for a moment – WOW! v.26 when the disciples saw them, they thought He was a ghost. They were terrified. v.27 Jesus tries to calm them, “It’s is I, don’t be afraid” but what Peter says next baffles me. v.28 Peter actually says, “Lord, if it’s You tell me to come to You on the water.” – Really? Really? If I was scared out of my mind, thinking I saw a ghost, I surely wouldn’t listen to it, I’d think ‘it’ was lying to me. I certainly wouldn’t say what Peter did. When ‘it’ said “come” I would’ve thought it was trying to get me to drown myself. v.29 Jesus chose His words carefully, never overused them – we would do good to do the same. v.30 Peter walked on water toward Jesus but let what he heard and saw (wind) allow his faith to waver and he began to sink. v.31 Jesus immediately saved him and said, “You of little faith why did you doubt?” – I wonder how often His Words here apply to us? ALOT! v.32 climbed in boat and wind died down v.33 all in boat believed in Jesus and worshipped Him. v.34-36 when reached land the word spread that Jesus was there. They brought all their sick to Jesus to be healed – to just let them touch the edge of His cloak, all who did were healed.
                ________________________________

Now, it’s your turn to get involved – your turn to take action! Are you ready? 
      

                           《—-Start here—-》

A) What popped off the page at you? Share your reflections and insights from these passages in the comments below.
B) Share your reflections and insights from your own daily scripture study – include book, chapter, and verse.
D) Go public – make an announcement on social media using #DWB2015. This will be an easy way to find and connect with other participants – iron sharpens iron!

Please join in and encourage one another – sharing is caring!

                   ________________________________ 

Thank You Jesus for giving me the push I needed to get this done today. I missed my 6PM CST submission goal but hallelujah any how! Thank You JESUS, I chose to sing Your praise instead! {I am really not feeling well today and would appreciate your prayers :)}

                   ________________________________

I hope you enjoyed day 22 🙂 I pray God spoke to you while you read this, I urge you to listen to whatever He put on your heart. I’d love to hear your thoughts and feedback. The goal and purpose of Bible study is for us to grow spiritually. I pray God gives us the wisdom to provide mutually beneficial thought-provoking, Christ-like inspiration.

God bless you all!

Jennifer – I Give God All The Glory

I am a daughter of God, a servant of the Lord, a wife to a patient husband, and a mama of two forgiving boys. God has placed these three men in my life needfully so. I thank Him for them everyday. And like so many of the Lord’s children, I am a work-of-glory-in-progress. I am on a journey to reclaim and renew my life in Christ. It took me 34 years to learn that when nothing else works, God does!

Posted in #DWB2015, #GiftsToGod2015, Bible, Bible Gateway, Bible Studies, Daily Word Buddies, God, Jesus, Meditation
6 comments on “Daily Word Buddies – January 22 2015 – #DWB2015
  1. The bricks without straw really speaks to me today. Sometimes we face impossible situations unable to see the ultimate freedom that lies beyond. If Moses can doubt having been in the very presence of God, I wonder if we sometimes beat ourselves up when doubts creep upon us. Moses though a hero of the Bible was a very real person just like us…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think one of my favorite stories is that one about Peter walking on Water. In fact because I loved that story I bought and read John Ortberg’s book, If you want to walk on water you have to get out of the boat. The book had little to do with that story but it was applicable in every way to my life. Thanks for sharing these excerpts, Jennifer.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jane,

      I love the thought of Peter walking on water with Jesus. One of my favorite songs is Oceans (where feet may fail) by Hillsong. I have it as my ringtone on my cell phone and it is a constant reminder to increase my faith to ‘walk on water’ status. I actually wanted to read that book for the same reason you mentioned. Glad to know it will be a good read.

      God bless.

      Jennifer

      Liked by 1 person

      • Definitely get that book to read it was great! I really loved John Ortberg book titled soul keeping as well. It was actually my favorite book for 2014. I didn’t know I could get that ringtone for my cell phone I’m going to have to figure out how to do that. Thank you for the suggestion.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I will get it. Thanks! As long as you have the song downloaded, you can save it to your phone, then you can use the free Myxer app to customize what part of the song you want as your ringtone and then just save it. It’s really neat and not too complicated. I’m always here to help as well. Good luck!

        Like

Leave a Reply

