Daily Word Buddies – January 30 2015 – #DWB2015

image

Today’s reading: Bible Gateway Old/New Testament 365 Reading Plan January 30 2015

Today’s Old Testament reflection: Exodus 23-34

Laws of Mercy and Justice – Exodus 23:1-9 | like yesterday’s reading these are common sense type things, like right from wrong, protecting the innocent, and refraining from evil.

Sabbath Laws – Exodus 23:10-13 | 6 years sow and harvest, 7th year leave unplowed. 6 days work, 7th day rest.

The Three Annual Festivals – Exodus 23:14-19 | 3 times a year celebrate festivals to God – Unleavened Bread,  Festival of Harvest, Festival of Ingathering.

God’s Angels Prepare the Way – Exodus 23:20-33 | v.25-26 “Worship the Lord your God, and His blessing will be on your food and water. I will take away sickness from among you, and none will miscarry or be barren in your land. I will give you a full life span” – what a promise! Reminds me of Matthew 6:33.

Covenant Confirmed – Exodus 24 | v.4-7 Moses wrote all God said – instructions and Law – book of the Covenant. v.10 “…and saw the God of Israel. Under his feet was something like a pavement made of lapis lazuli, as bright blue as the sky…” – what a vision this is! Take a minute to visualize it! v.12 God will give Moses the stone tablets for their instructions. v.14 Left Aaron and Hur in charge. v.18 Moses stayed on mt. with God for 40 days and nights.

Today’s New Testament reflection: Matthew 19

The Parable of the Workers in the Vineyard – Matthew 20:1-16 | v.1 the Kingdom of Heaven is like a land owner who went out early in the AM to hire workers for his field. v.2 the first group agrees to 1 denarius for the day. v.3 9AM he hired more v.5 went out and hired more at noon and again at 3PM. v.6 5PM hired more. v.8 in evening he paid out the workers – paid last first. v.9 5PM workers paid 1 denarius. v.10 the ones hired 1st (early AM) expected to get paid more than those who came later but they were also paid 1 denarius v.11-12 they grumbled against the landowner saying, “They only worked an hour, you made them equal to us who worked all day!” – I, I, I, me, me, me! v.13 the landowner was not being unfair, they agreed to work all day for 1 denarius. So how is it unfair that others agreed to work less for the same amount? It’s no ones fault but their own. v.16 last will be first and vice versa. 
                ________________________________

Now, it’s your turn to get involved – your turn to take action! Are you ready?

                           《—-Start here—-》

A) What popped off the page at you? Share your reflections and insights from these passages in the comments below.
B) Share your reflections and insights from your own daily scripture study – include book, chapter, and verse.
D) Go public – make an announcement on social media using #DWB2015. This will be an easy way to find and connect with other participants – iron sharpens iron!

Please join in and encourage one another – sharing is caring!

                   ________________________________

Thank You Jesus! I made my 6PM CST submission goal – right on time again! I almost didn’t make it. I thank You for all Your help Jesus!

                   ________________________________

I hope you enjoyed day 30 🙂 I pray God spoke to you while you read this, I urge you to listen to whatever He put on your heart. I’d love to hear your thoughts and feedback. The goal and purpose of Bible study is for us to grow spiritually. I pray God gives us the wisdom to provide mutually beneficial thought-provoking, Christ-like inspiration.

God bless you all!

Jennifer – I Give God All The Glory

I am a daughter of God, a servant of the Lord, a wife to a patient husband, and a mama of two forgiving boys. God has placed these three men in my life needfully so. I thank Him for them everyday. And like so many of the Lord’s children, I am a work-of-glory-in-progress. I am on a journey to reclaim and renew my life in Christ. It took me 34 years to learn that when nothing else works, God does!

Posted in #DWB2015, #GiftsToGod2015, Bible, Bible Gateway, Bible Studies, Daily Word Buddies, God, Jesus, Meditation
4 comments on “Daily Word Buddies – January 30 2015 – #DWB2015
  1. In regards to Matthew 19 the selfish parts of us always want what we think is “fair” yet we all long for that same generosity when we come late to God for one reason or another. At various times in our lives we will all be the ones who come “late” and appreciate God’s mercy and grace.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This was my favorite: I will give you a full life span” – what a promise!

    You know the story about the vine yard? I’m sure I have heard that story many times but I never realized the dissension about the pay. Can you imagine trying that in 2015? I bet not!

    It’s fun being facebook friends now too. I never think to friend people. 😦 I’m glad you did..

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree about the promise verse – I could have made my entire post today about it! I love God’s promises – they’re powerful and we know we can trust the One who makes them.

      The vineyard – it is so awesome when we reread verses and God shows us new things! I often try to adapt Bible stories to modern day scenarios – it makes them real and all the more mind-blowing!

      I’m glad we’re Facebook friends too – otherwise we probably never would have known that we have a friend in common! So glad God brought us together Jane!

      God bless you!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

