Daily Word Buddies – January 31 2015 – #DWB2015

image

Today’s reading: Bible Gateway Old/New Testament 365 Reading Plan January 31 2015

Today’s Old Testament reflection: Exodus 25-26

Offerings for the Tabernacle – Exodus 25:1-9 | “God said to Moses…” take up an offering from the Israelites – receive it from everyone whose heart prompts them to give. – that’s the way our hearts should be – always moved to give! – collect: gold, silver, bronze, blue, purple, and scarlet yarn, fine linen, goat hair, ram skins dyed red, durable leather, acacia wood, olive oil, spices, fragrant incense, and onyx stones. – I don’t know about you all but I had a super hard time (actually 3 or 4 times) visualizing these items coming together as described in the next sections. So, I looked up and added helpful pictures to each item. Wow – what a difference it makes! Enjoy!

The Ark – Exodus 25:10-22 | 2 1/2 cubits by 1 1/2 cubits = 3 3/4 ft L by 2 1/4 ft W v.17 reminds me of Exodus 20:4-6 the 2nd commandment: no idols, no images. As a new Christian I struggled with the idea of crosses being an idol. I realized God is telling Moses to build this specific item this way but He certainly didn’t tell us to wear, bow down to, and worship crosses. Crosses are easily identified as a common point of Christianity today. In many ways, crosses can be an idol. Especially, when we show them off instead of showing off Jesus or when it becomes more about a cross around our neck than living out His Truth from a renewed heart and mind. I stuggled deeply with this because a cross holds such a significant meaning. The cross is a very serious reminder of Jesus’ sacrifice for us! I can only speak for myself here…but kneeling at the foot of the cross is a wildly vivid reminder of E.V.E.R.Y.T.H.I.N.G Jesus has done for me – Watch “Newsboys – Hallelujah For The Cross – Lyric Video” on YouTube – What about you, any thoughts on this? 

image

Ark Replica – Christianbook.com

The Table  – Exodus 25:23-30 | 2 cubits by 1 1/2 cubits = 3 1/2 ft L, 1 1/2 ft W by 2 1/4 ft H

image

Table of the Showbread – gracepointdevotions.org

The Lampstand – Exodus 25:31-40 | 1 talent of gold to make this: 1 talent = 75 lbs! I previously envisioned this as a small table top one like what we commonly see today. I didn’t realize it was so large and 75 lbs!

image

Lampstand History – oldtestamenttabernacle.org

The Tabernacle – Exodus 26 | the Tabernacle was roughly 45 ft by 15 ft with an even bigger 150 ft by 75 ft surrounding outer structure.

image

Hebrew Notes – history & pics – generationword.com

image

The Tabernacle Pamphlet – Rose Publishing

Today’s New Testament reflection: Matthew 20:17-34

Jesus Predicts His Death a Third Time – Matthew 20:17-19 | v.17 Jesus took the 12 aside v.18-19 Jesus told them that in Jerusalem He will be delivered to the chief priests and teachers of the law, condemned to death, and handed over to the Gentiles to be mocked and flogged and crucified. On the third day He will be raised to life.

A Mother’s Request – Matthew 20:20-28 | v.20-21 The sons of Zebedee and their mother came to Jesus. She knelt down before Him and asked for a BOLD favor – that her sons sit at each side Jesus in His Kingdom – truly BOLD. v.22 Jesus said, “You don’t know what you’re asking, can you drink the cup that I am going to drink?” – oh boy, how many times do we want results but aren’t willing to put any effort behind it. We want to go to Heaven but rarely do we live like Jesus. Are we fans or followers? v.23 they said they can drink His cup and Jesus agreed with them – wow! – but said the positions next to Him in Heaven are not for Jesus to grant but those spots are prepared for by God. – I thought everything is given to Jesus by God, or perhaps I’m just confused and all authority isn’t given to Jesus til later, I thought Jesus is God…so, these lines confused me. I need some divine revelation and Holy Spirit intuition here! v.24 when the other 10 disciples heard about this they were like, “Really are you kidding me, who do they think they are?” v.25-28 Jesus called them all to Him and said, “…the Gentiles Lord their authority over each other but that should not be so with you, instead whoever wants to become great among you must be your servant and who wants to be first must be your slave, just as the Son of man did not come to be served but to serve and to give his life as a ransom for many.” – way to turn the tables completely upside down Jesus! He left power, glory, and worship 24-7 to do that for us! Let that sink in for a minute! Are you in awe of him? Do you have a proper perspective on His sacrifice? We are to live like him and to conform to his image but what does that look like? Jesus says it’s being the servant of all, giving our life away for lives of others, it’s selflessly dying to our needs to live for the needs of others.

Two Blind Men Receive Sight – Matthew 20:29-34 | v.29 Jesus and disciples were leaving Jericho – large crowd followed. v.30 2 blind men sitting on the side of the road heard Jesus was passing by. So they shouted  and cried out, “Lord, Son of David, have mercy on us!” v.31 the crowd rebuked them and told them to stop it and keep quiet. But they shouted all the louder, over…and over! – ha! Persistence pays off! Good for them – keep on asking, seeking, knocking – Matthew 7:7. v.32 Jesus stopped and asked, “What do you want me to do for you?” – oh boy, what a loaded question! I imagine my prayers like this: kneeling before Jesus, weeping, my tears drenching His feet, and then He calmly, lovingly, reassuringly asks me what I want Him to do for me – WOW! Give me You Lord, just give me You! – Watch “All I need is You – Hillsong United – Live in Miami – with subtitles/lyrics” on YouTube – v.33 “Lord, we want our sight.” – as a lifelong wearer of glasses and/or contacts, I would love to be able to see without the use of corrective lens, please heal me too Lord! v.34 Jesus had compassion on them and touched their eyes. They immediately received their sight and followed Him! – this reminds me of the many, many people who start following Jesus because of the miracles He has done in their life – He is the ultimate Healer, Deliverer, and Savior! I’ve seen it in countless lives – including mine, my household and extended family. Thank you Jesus!!

                ________________________________

Now, it’s your turn to get involved – your turn to take action! Are you ready?

                           《—-Start here—-》

A) What popped off the page at you? Share your reflections and insights from these passages in the comments below.
B) Share your reflections and insights from your own daily scripture study – include book, chapter, and verse.
D) Go public – make an announcement on social media using #DWB2015. This will be an easy way to find and connect with other participants – iron sharpens iron!

Please join in and encourage one another – sharing is caring!

                   ________________________________

Thank You Jesus! I made my 6PM CST submission goal – well ahead of schedule! I had a GREAT time with this today. I pray every day going forward will be as insightful! Thank You Jesus and Holy Spirit for all Your help!

                   ________________________________

I hope you enjoyed day 31 🙂 I pray God spoke to you while you read this, I urge you to listen to whatever He put on your heart. I’d love to hear your thoughts and feedback. The goal and purpose of Bible study is for us to grow spiritually. I pray God gives us the wisdom to provide mutually beneficial thought-provoking, Christ-like inspiration.

Tomorrow starts the 2nd month of #DWB2015 – I really hope you all enjoyed January! Please receive my sincere gratitude for your participation – studying God’s Word is one of the best investments we can make – Salvation being the 1st! I am beyond honored to share this wonderful journey with you – it’s such a pleasure digging into and getting to know the mind of our Father! Till next time Sweet Souls….

God bless you all!

Jennifer – I Give God All The Glory

I am a daughter of God, a servant of the Lord, a wife to a patient husband, and a mama of two forgiving boys. God has placed these three men in my life needfully so. I thank Him for them everyday. And like so many of the Lord’s children, I am a work-of-glory-in-progress. I am on a journey to reclaim and renew my life in Christ. It took me 34 years to learn that when nothing else works, God does!

Posted in #DWB2015, #GiftsToGod2015, Bible, Bible Gateway, Bible Studies, Daily Word Buddies, Gifts, Jesus, Meditation
4 comments on “Daily Word Buddies – January 31 2015 – #DWB2015
  1. This was excellent. I have not seen so much detail of the tabernacle before. The new testament stories. I get that. I would be doing the same weeping.

    Thanks for continuing to share.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

