Daily Word Buddies – February 2 2015 – #DWB2015

image

Today’s reading: Bible Gateway Old/New Testament 365 Reading Plan February 2 2015

Today’s Old Testament reflection: Exodus 29-30

Consecration of the Priests – Exodus 29 | to consecrate them: present a young bull, 2 rams without defect, finest wheat flour, without yeast, thick loaves without yeast with oil mixed in, thin loaves without yeast brushed with oil. Bring Aaron and sons to entrance of the tent, wash them with water, dress Aaron in garments; tunic, robe of the ephod, ephod, and the breastpiece, sash, turban, attach sacred emblem. Then anoint his head with the anointing oil. Dress his sons in tunics, caps, and sashes. Lasting ordinance. Moses to ordain Aaron and his sons for 7 days. Sin Offering = 1 bull, Burnt Offering = 1 ram (garment consecration, ram of ordination = bread, wave, and portion too), Wave Offering = basketful of bread, Burnt Offering = bread, Wave Offering = ram breast, consecrate ram breast and thigh = Aaron and sons portion from Fellowship Offering. Aaron’s garments to be handed down to descendants to be anointed and ordained. The meat portion for Aaron and his sons is sacred and must be eaten in the same day. The altar is Most Holy and the regular offering is a 1yr old lamb – in AM and again at twilight – with 3 1/2 lbs of flour, and a 1 qt of oil and wine – food offering presented to God. For generations to come. God will consecrate the tent of meeting, altar,and Aaron and His sons to serve Him as priests. God will live among the Israelites and be their God.

Altar of Incense – Exodus 30:1-10 | acacia wood square: 1 cubit W & L by 2 cubits H = 1 1/2 ft W & L by 3 ft H,  one peice horns with it, rings, poles, and molding overlay with gold. Put altar in front of curtain that is before the ark of the covenant. Aaron must burn only this incense, do this regularly at morning and twilight when he tends to the lamp for generations to come. Once a year Aaron will make an atonement with blood of the antoning sin offering – Most Holy = Purification Offering.

Atonement Money – Exodus 30:11-16 | “God said to Moses…” take a census of the people but when you do…each one shall pay a ransom to the Lord for their life, then no plague will come upon you when you number them! – what?! Anyone know why a census or numbering the people would cause this? – 20 yrs old or more are to pay 1/2 shekel (20 gerahs) = 1/5 oz. Rich and poor are to pay the same. Atonement money goes to service of the tent. This is a memorial for the Isrealites, making an atonement for their lives.

Basin for Washing – Exodus 30:17-21 | “God said to Moses…” make a bronze basin with bronze stand for washing, put between tent of meeting and the altar. Put water in it, Aaron and sons are to wash hands and feet everytime they enter, also when they approach the altar they are to wash hands and feet. Lasting ordinance for Aaron and descendants for generations to come.

image

Thr Tabernacle of Moses – Israel A History Of

Anointing Oil – Exodus 30:22-33 | “God said to Moses…” sacred anointing oil: fine spices – 500 shekels of liquid myrrh = 12 1/2 lbs, 250 shekels of cinnamon = 6 1/4 lbs, 250 shekels of calamus = 6 1/4 lbs, 500 shekels of cassia = 12 1/2 lbs, and a hin of olive oil = 1 gallon – use it to anoint the tent, the ark, the table and all its articles, the lampstand and all its accessories, the altar of incense, the altar of burnt offering and all its utensils, the basin with the stand – consecrate them and they will be Most Holy. Anoint Aaron and his sons, tell the Israelites what this is and that it’s not for anyone else to make, it’s sacred and they are not sacred. Whoever does it is to be cut off from their people.

Incense – Exodus 30:35-38 | “God said to Moses…” take spices – gum resin, onycha, galbanum, and pure frankincense – in equal amounts, salted and pure – grind some to powder for front of ark (Most Holy) – do not make this for yourselves, whoever does shall be cut off from their people.

Today’s New Testament reflection: Matthew 21:23-46

The Authority of Jesus Questioned – Matthew 21:23-27 | Jesus was teaching in the temple courts when the chief priests and elders asked by what authority He does all these things and who gave Him this authority? Jesus replied that if they tell Him if John’s baptism was from God (Heaven origin) or man (human origin), thrn He would answer them. They knew Jesus had them – if they said Heaven: Jesus would say why then didn’t you listen and believe? If they said human origin: the people would be upset because they saw John as a prophet. So, they told Jesus they didn’t know and He said then neither will He answer them! HA!

The Parable of the Two Sons – Matthew 21:28:32 | a man had two sons, he told the 1st son to go out and work in the vineyard. The 1st son said no but later changed his mind and went. The 2nd said yes but never went. Which son did what the father asked? The 1st! Jesus explained that even the prostitutes and tax collectors are entering the Kingdom of God ahead of them. (I assume Jesus was talking to the priests and elders) jesus went on to say that John came to show them the way of righteousness and they did not believe him but the others did, even after they saw all this, they didn’t repent and believe (if this was back to back from the last section Jesus was letting the pharisees, chief priests, and elders know that He knows their hearts).

The Parable of the Tenants – Matthew 21:33-46 | a landowner planted a vineyard and rented it out. At harvest time he sent his servants to collect his share but the tenants beat one servant, killed another, and stoned the 3rd. The landowner sent more servants then before but the tenants treated them the same way. The landowner sent his son, thinking they would respect him but the tenants thought if they killed the son then they would get his inheritance. So, they did and the landowner in turn brought them to their end and rented the land to new tenants who will give him his share of the crop at harvest time. Jesus is the son, the rejected cornerstone Psalm 118:22-23, Acts 4:11. The Pharisees and chief priests were smart enough to know Jesus was talking about them and it bothered them. So they looked for ways to arrest Him but they were scared of the crowds because the people thought Jesus was a prophet. 

                ________________________________

Now, it’s your turn to get involved – your turn to take action! Are you ready?

                           《—-Start here—-》

A) What popped off the page at you? Share your reflections and insights from these passages in the comments below.
B) Share your reflections and insights from your own daily scripture study – include book, chapter, and verse.
D) Go public – make an announcement on social media using #DWB2015. This will be an easy way to find and connect with other participants – iron sharpens iron!

Please join in and encourage one another – sharing is caring!

                   ________________________________

Thank You Jesus! I made my 6PM CST submission goal – just in time – again!!! It’s been a rough day and I am so blessed by Jesus to have been able to sumbit this on time 🙂

                   ________________________________

I hope you enjoyed day 33 🙂 I pray God spoke to you while you read this, I urge you to listen to whatever He put on your heart. I’d love to hear your thoughts and feedback. The goal and purpose of Bible study is for us to grow spiritually. I pray God gives us the wisdom to provide mutually beneficial thought-provoking, Christ-like inspiration.

God bless you all!

Jennifer – I Give God All The Glory

I am a daughter of God, a servant of the Lord, a wife to a patient husband, and a mama of two forgiving boys. God has placed these three men in my life needfully so. I thank Him for them everyday. And like so many of the Lord’s children, I am a work-of-glory-in-progress. I am on a journey to reclaim and renew my life in Christ. It took me 34 years to learn that when nothing else works, God does!

Posted in #DWB2015, #GiftsToGod2015, Bible, Bible Gateway, Bible Studies, Daily Word Buddies, God, Jesus, Meditation
6 comments on “Daily Word Buddies – February 2 2015 – #DWB2015
  1. Reblogged this on jillkrahling and commented:
    Aaron’s parents.

    Like

  2. Good job on meeting your 6:00 pm goal. I haven’t had a rough day so much as I have just had so much to do. It’s gone well, but just packed – and tomorrow is my morning to volunteer at my granddaughter’s school, tomorrow night is Bible Study, and Wednesday I volunteer at my church doing child care while women have daytime Bible Study,Thursday all day I’m chaperoning a 5th grade class trip which my granddaughter is in. And I just got a new contract with work I have never done before. God brought it to me so I know he will bring me through it – but still.

    Anyway – these jumped off the page at me. I always wonder how anyone doubted Jesus’ authority but I have to remember that we are looking back and those people were living it at the time. I guess in a way I’m doubting that I can do these jobs that God brings me.

    Jesus was teaching in the temple courts when the chief priests and elders asked by what authority He does all these things and who gave Him this authority?

    And I don’t remember ever reading this before or even hearing the story.

    The landowner sent his son, thinking they would respect him but the tenants thought if they killed the son then they would get his inheritance.

    I hope your day tomorrow goes phenomenally better than today.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jane,

      Whew! You certainly have a full schedule – let’s take a minute to pray over it…
      – Heavenly Father, I lift up my sister Jane to your Your Throne of Grace. I thank You for leading and guiding her throughout her day. I thank You for Your presence over her life. I ask You to guard her heart as she shares Your love in the work to bring her to. Remind her that You equip her for every task and You supply her every need – always! Protect her mind from the stresses of this crazy-fast world. Soothe her emotions and grant her Your unending peace. Remind her that You are her anchor of hope, and that You watch over and go with her everywhere. Remind her how much she means to You – show her how much You love her. I pray all these things in the precious name of our Savior and Lord Jesus Christ. Let it all be done according to Your Will. Thank you Lord, You are so GOOD. We love You Lord! –

      I stand in faith that God will bring you through it all!!

      Okay, so now that we’re ‘prayed up’ – let’s chat! When I read how they witnessed Jesus’ power and still didn’t believe in Him – I just shake my head! Then I try to put myself in their position (like you said – living it) and wonder why it was so hard for them to accept. Needless to say, I can’t answer that question. 🙂 When Jesus came for me…I knew like I knew, like I knew who He was! And it was Him who said blessed are those who don’t see and yet believe! Yes, we are blessed indeed! As far as the ‘new details’ you discovered today – I am so glad to hear about God revealing His Word to You. Anytime you want to go even deeper – I find that handwriting (or typing) these stories helped me tremendously. I was all, “Wait a minute! Whh-at?! Where was that before? How many times have I missed this…?” Thanks to Bible Gateway, I recently heard about a notebook designed specifically for handwriting books of the Bible, it’s called a Jourible. I might give it a try 🙂

      Thanks so much for taking the time to encourage my tomorrow 🙂

      God bless you!

      Jennifer

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Jennifer -wow! I had just finished my quiet time – our Bible study is on Jonah – then I read your prayer for me. I am so incredibly touched by your pure, selfless love for the Lord that extends to me and I’m sure all your readers. When I think of your salvation being only since 2013 I am speechless. God has given you insight into things I am just now learning and I have been in the Word since birth. I am 61 years old – so yes, that is a long time to be a reader of the Word but not a studyer of the Word. In God’s sovereignty He brought us together. Awesome, awesome God. Is anything to hard for Him?

    Lord, Jesus, Almighty God – Thank you for putting Jennifer on the Earth to do your good work, but thank you more, Lord, that she followed you when you called her. She is a blessing, dear Jesus, and might not always feel that assurance. Bring her abundant joy today in every path she walks.May every stumbling block become a stepping stone to her best life that you have created specifically for her. Give Jennifer a peaceful heart bathed in your love and spirit emboldened by your power. We love you so much Lord. Every day is yours, God, but today let us both feel your presence, go before us and shine your light where we should walk so we stay in your will. We pray in your precious name. Amen

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

