Daily Word Buddies – February 10 2015 – #DWB2015

image

Today’s reading: Bible Gateway Old/New Testament 365 Reading Plan February 10 2015

Today’s Old Testament reflection: Leviticus 8-10

The Ordination of Aaron and His Sons – Leviticus 8 | recounts God’s regulations and instruction (details and preparations) for the Ordination of Aaron and his sons – Moses washed, anointed and consecrated them, the Tabernacle and their garments. Sacrificed a bull for a sin offering, one ram for the burnt offering, another ram for the ordination, basket of bread without yeast and the breast of the ordination ram for the wave offering. Aaron and his sons had to stay in the tent of meeting for 7 days until the ordination was complete.

The Priests Begin Their Ministry – Leviticus 9 | on the 8th day after their ordination God told Moses to have Aaron and his sons sacrifice a bull calf for a sin offering and a ram for a burnt offering. Then God said the Israelites were to sacrifice a male goat for a sin offering, a year old calf and lamb for a burnt offering, an ox and ram for a fellowship offering, and a grain offering mixed with oil – Moses told them, “For today the Lord will appear before you.” Aaron performed all the offerings and blessed the people. Then both Moses and Aaron blessed the people and then the glory of the Lord appeared to all of the them. Fire came out from the presence of the Lord and consumed the burnt offering and fat portions on the altar. All the people saw it, shouted for joy and fell facedown in awe and worship. {what and awesome sight!}

The Death of Nadab and Abihu – Leviticus 10 | Aaron’s sons Nadab and Abihu burnt a strange, unauthorized incense offering to God and fire came out from the presence of the Lord and consumed them! God is proved Holy and will be honored – though Aaron was (most likely) hurt and upset, he kept silent. Moses told Aaron that he and his remaining sons (Eleazar and Ithamar) are not to let their hair become unkempt or tear their clothes (mourn privately and quietly) or they will die and God will be angry with the whole community. But their relatives may mourn the deaths. God also said that Aaron and his sons must never drink wine and the like in the tent of meeting or they will die – lasting ordinance throughout his generations to come. Then it goes on to discuss the priests perpetual portion.

Today’s New Testament reflection: Matthew 25:31-46

The Sheep and the Goats – Matthew 25:31-46 | {my NASB study Bible describes this next section – the Olivet Discourse – as some of the most important prophetic material in all of Scripture. And as such, I will leave most of the details of this reading intact}

Jesus tells them another parable – when He returns in His power and glory, all the angels will be with Him, and He will sit on His glorious throne. Every nation will be gathered before him, and He’ll separate the people one from another as a shepherd separates the sheep from the goats. He’ll put the sheep on his right (place of favor) and the goats (unbelievers, those who reject Him, no saving faith) on his left. {evaluate which side you think you’ll be on}

The King (Jesus) will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the Kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world…'{our inheritance is the Kingdom He has prepared for us}

‘…For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’ {take notes, you’ll need these details to evaluate which side you’ll be on}

Then the righteous will reply him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’ {we would totally ask the same thing… scratching our heads saying, “No, Lord I think I would’ve known or remembered if I did that stuff for you!”}

The King (Jesus) will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’ {who are His (hint: our) brothers and sisters? His disciples – followers of Christ, not fans. “Oh, yes Lord, we took good care of them!”}

Then Jesus will say to those on his left, ‘Depart from me, you who are cursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels. For I was hungry and you gave me nothing to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me nothing to drink, I was a stranger and you did not invite me in, I needed clothes and you did not clothe me, I was sick and in prison and you did not look after me.’ {I think there are many who are saved and believe in Him who are caught up in the world and don’t do these things}

They also will say, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry or thirsty or a stranger or needing clothes or sick or in prison, and did not help you?’ {they ask the same question as the righteous except for tis bunch it’s nothing more than an excuse – a clever way to argue that He never give them an opportunity to do such things for Him personally}

Jesus will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did not do for one of the least of these, you did not do for me.’ {who are ‘the least of these’?}

Then they (goats on the left) will go away to eternal punishment (lake of eternal fire), but the righteous to eternal life (new Heaven with Jesus to worship Him forever).” {which side are you on? I certainly hope you’re not on left! Are you sure Jesus would put you on the right? What about in the middle? I know Jesus has no middle ground here but maybe that is where you’re at Spiritually…perhaps, you’re saved and redeemed but you don’t care for fellow believers like you should. Maybe you don’t live like Christ, or you’re not completely surrendered to Him. Get with God in prayer – ask Him to show you what you can do to make your relationship with Him better and then take serious, deliberate, obedient steps toward Christlikeness!  🙂

This concludes the Olivet Discourse.
                ________________________________

Now, it’s your turn to get involved – your turn to take action! Are you ready?

                           《—-Start here—-》

A) What popped off the page at you? Share your reflections and insights from these passages in the comments below.
B) Share your reflections and insights from your own daily scripture study – include book, chapter, and verse.
D) Go public – make an announcement on social media using #DWB2015. This will be an easy way to find and connect with other participants – iron sharpens iron!

Please join in and encourage one another – sharing is caring!

                   ________________________________

I made my 6PM CST submission goal just in time. Thank You Jesus!

                   ________________________________

I hope you enjoyed day 41 🙂 I pray God spoke to you while you read this, I urge you to listen to whatever He put on your heart. I’d love to hear your thoughts and feedback. The goal and purpose of Bible study is for us to grow spiritually. I pray God gives us the wisdom to provide mutually beneficial thought-provoking, Christ-like inspiration.

God bless you all!

Jennifer – I Give God All The Glory

I am a daughter of God, a servant of the Lord, a wife to a patient husband, and a mama of two forgiving boys. God has placed these three men in my life needfully so. I thank Him for them everyday. And like so many of the Lord’s children, I am a work-of-glory-in-progress. I am on a journey to reclaim and renew my life in Christ. It took me 34 years to learn that when nothing else works, God does!

Posted in #DWB2015, #GiftsToGod2015, Bible, Bible Gateway, Bible Studies, Daily Word Buddies, God, Jesus, Meditation

Leave a Reply

