Confession Of A Tenacious Zealot – End Of The Road For #DWB2015

Sweet Souls, I have a confession…

In my tenacious zeal I piled on too many Spiritual goals for 2015. Wait, let me rephrase that, my original goals #GiftsToGod2015 were absolutely manageable.

#1: quick obedience to God’s Will.
#2: devoted desire & dedicated worship to God.
#3: full trust and faith in God.

They were intended as gifts to God, not tasks and lists. What I did was turn my freewill gifts into a burden. I created too many tasks and made things way too complicated. I admit that I do hold myself to a strict, high standard. I tend to push and demand so much of myself frequently. But seriously, who said I needed to commentary the entire Bible as part of my yearly goals?!

Was it…
Honorable?
Well-intentioned?
Helpful?
Yes, yes, and yes!

My heart and mind said yes, go for it! But I believe the Spirit said no, and I just didn’t listen. God tried to get my attention. He sent up His flare of Truth, a warning shot I didn’t notice. A lone ember from the flare sparked a rampant fire. It got warm, uncomfortable even, but still I was unaware. The wafting smoke eventually choked out the air, unable to see and gasping for breath, God finally caught my attention.

I midst of all this striving, I lost my peace. I turned my love of His Word into a to-do list.

A. Must. Do.

I turned something I absolutely adore into work.

A. Project.

An unclimable mountian, one that needed to be uprooted and throw into the sea (Mark 11:23).

Many of you commented on the amount of time it must have taken me to complete my Daily Word Buddies post. And you were all right. It took me a long time and I frequently missed my daily goals. I completed 40 handwritten successful days on my own (before going live on Jan 1). I really thought I could see the year through. Then, a severe cold and LIFE took me completely out of the game for almost 2 weeks. I am so far behind now. I have come to the realization that no matter how well-intentioned my self-imposed demands are, I simply can’t do it all.

And that’s ok. I don’t feel like a failure…well, much anyway 🙂 

I think this line from Beth Moore sums it up nicely:
“We may plan to stay forever and commit with noble intentions to do one things for the rest of our lives. But when the Spirit of God moves within us, we must move with Him or be miserable.” – Beth Moore (To Live Is Christ – The Life and Ministry of Paul – Bible Study)

When I don’t move with God, I am M.I.S.E.R.A.B.L.E.

I don’t want to be miserable.

I know what God has called me to do and I need to stay true to His mission for me.

I need to share Jesus with the world (and that may or may not include a full Bible commentary at some point or another in my life).

So, my Sweet Souls, this concludes the #DWB2015. I sincerely hope you enjoyed the 50 odd days we spent together in His Word. And God-Willing, one day we’ll pick it again. I certainly enjoyed hearing from you all. You offered such wonderful insight. I loved our interactions and pray God will continue to lead our hearts and lives. Don’t worry, I won’t be completely silent. I have a bunch of posts-in-progress that were held back due to the time constraints of #DWB2015. For now I’m going to cease striving, rest, and let God be my guide. Well, I’m going to try to anyway – please God help me!

Psalm 46:10
“Cease striving and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.”

Have a blessed day in Christ!

Jennifer – I Give God All The Glory

I am a daughter of God, a servant of the Lord, a wife to a patient husband, and a mama of two forgiving boys. God has placed these three men in my life needfully so. I thank Him for them everyday. And like so many of the Lord’s children, I am a work-of-glory-in-progress. I am on a journey to reclaim and renew my life in Christ. It took me 34 years to learn that when nothing else works, God does!

Posted in #DWB2015, #GiftsToGod2015, Bible, Daily Word Buddies, Gifts, God, Jesus
8 comments on “Confession Of A Tenacious Zealot – End Of The Road For #DWB2015
  1. TeenFaith777 says:

    I’m the same way!!!! I’ll be praying for you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. realchange4u says:

    Jennifer I enjoyed every post. Thank you for taking the time and effort to love on us and share your heart. You touched so many lives. We will never know how many until; we meet on the other side. May God richly bless you for all you do. Strength and rest for you my sister. PS there is a old saying in Christian circles the old devil will work you to discouragement if you don’t watch it. I thank God for you decrement and wisdom God has given you.

    Keep the faith love Tom

    Like

    • Tom,

      Thank you for those beautiful, heartfelt words! What a blessing you are!

      Proverbs 15:23 (MSG) Congenial conversation—what a pleasure! The right word at the right time—beautiful!

      God bless you now and always!

      Jennifer

      Like

  3. I’m so glad you obeyed the promptings of the Spirit. In my own experience I have found I am very able to complicate my time/devotion in regards to God (I love lists, order, meeting a goal) when God would have me just be still and listen and THEN set about what I will read, study or pray about.

    Our first ministry begins at home. Sowing into our loved ones that they may be fruitful when we send them on their way.

    Peace and blessings to you Jennifer. No way a failure, just a project deferred. God will tell you when to pick it up again. Trust me, I’ve most definitely been there. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

