Watered Down Mediocre Christianity And Christian Lives Marked By Sin

image

News flash!!!!
I’m not perfect.
I mess things up.
I get angry.
I can be unloving or unkind.
I make mistakes.
Sometimes, I say or do the wrong things.
I can be critical or take things personally.
Sometimes, I just plain BLOW it.

We all have things we struggle with. I can openly admit to God and you Sweet Souls, I am not perfect (far, far from it) but thank God my Savior Jesus is. I know my flesh is weak but my love and adoration to be obedient to God supercedes everything else in my life. {Reread that last sentence. Is God your number one priority – the One who supercedes all others including yourself? If not, stop and pray about this NOW!} I know who I am in Christ I don’t need to pretend I’m some super race runner Christian who has it all together but I will not make excuses for or sweep my sins under the rug. I see other so-called Christians do this daily and it hurts my heart. 😦 Jesus wouldn’t want us to represent Him falsely. He is the Way, the Truth, and the Life! I wonder what part of the word ‘Truth’ some so-called Christians don’t understand? I make mistakes, we all make mistakes, we are not perfect but our lives as Christians (one imitating Christ) should not be characterized by sin. There is a stark difference Sweet Souls. Some self-proclaimed Christians live in sin, are known by their hypocritical or unChrist-like actions, and yet claim they are obedient Christians but God’s Word says otherwise.

Hebrews 10:26-27 Christ or Judgment
26 “For if we go on sinning willfully after receiving the knowledge of the truth, there no longer remains a sacrifice for sins, 27 but a terrifying expectation of judgment and the fury of a fire which will consume the adversaries.”

A Christian is one imitating the Christ of the Holy Bible, doing and saying what He did and said. Anything less is a mockery of the greatest sacrifice in eternity and brings shame and insult upon His Church – His precious Bride – all those who share Salvation through faith in Him. In this, I look out over the swirling sea of the so-called church and weep. My heart hurts from this type of watered down, mediocre Christianity. My heart hurts from self-proclaimed Christians not living, imitating, and walking in the Name they claim. My heart hurts from the amount of self-proclaimed Christians that think it’s okay to do and say things Christ wouldn’t do. My heart hurts from the amount of self-proclaimed Christians that do not act like they are not their own, they make up their own rules for living but God sees it all and they will have to answer for it. Please know I am not looking down on society from my righteous soapbox because it simply doesn’t exist. Who am I? Just someone loved by God. As are you, and according to John 3:16, so is the world. Please know this…I am vividly aware that I’m not without blemish, I look down on no one. I cannot boast of my righteous deeds because they are as filthy rags. I can only boast of the righteousness of Christ that washes me clean. This is not coming from a self-righteous, indignant, holier than thou place but from a heart yeilded to Christ desperate for repentance and obedience within His bride. One of the first things God impressed upon my heart after my Salvation was ‘back to basics – Bible, repentance, and obedience.’ I believe this is important to Him for His Church and the time to act is now.

I am in agreement with God, it’s not okay to continue to sin willfully after Salvation (see Hebrews 10:26-27 above). Do you agree with God? Our Christian lives should not be characterized by sin. Jesus did not sin. We should not sin, but if we are disobedient to God and mess up and sin we should repent and turn away from it immediately. Jesus did not entertain sin or befriend it, neither should we. Jesus did not willing step into sin. He told others to stop sinning. He withstood it by the Word of God and so can we. He managed to avoid sin and so should we. Sin has no place in the life of a Christian. We should strive to present ourselves unashamed, as ones approved and rightly handling and living the Word of Truth. I hold obedience to God’s Word right up there with the #1 commandment – to love God with all my heart, soul, mind, and strength is to seek Him, follow His instructions obediently, and to imitate His Son in everything. I openly admit I need Jesus every second of every day. Do you Christian? I know I need Him to go with me wherever I go. Do you Christian? I need Him with me in everything I do. I don’t need to ask again, I imagine you do too. We can have hope knowing He always fills our need of Him. There can never be a lack of Him, only lack of us seeking Him. His presence is a sweet and constant reminder that we are desperately lost and hopeless without Him. He is first and we are last in all things. We should aim to represent Him well in all things, to imitate Him in all things. We should amplify the Name above all names, the name of Jesus Christ, by no other name is Salvation found. At the end of the day, I don’t want anyone to see me, only the Savior that carries me – flaws, scars, sins, baggage, and all. May He be glorified always.

How about you? Examine yourself (your words, actions, and heart) now. Where are you in your faith walk – Bible, repentance, obedience? Does anything need immediate attention?

How does watered down, mediocre Christianity make you feel? Upset or indifferent?

Do you speak up to help sharpen others (iron sharpens iron) in the Way of the Cross and living righteously in Christ? If not, what’s stopping you? Pray about it.

Do you know we can only overcome sin through Salvation in Him? Once we become new creations in Him, a spiritual transformation takes places, a transformation that should be nurtured daily with the Word of God as we grow and conform to the image of Christ.

How do you present yourself in daily life? Many people claim to be Christian but a quick examination of their words and actions reveals hearts that are far from God but close to the world.

What is your life characterized by? Sin or Repentance. If your answer is sin, repent and turn from it now.

Do you live to imitate Jesus in everything? If not, you should.

How deeply do you need or seek Jesus in everyday life? Make Him your number #1 priority every second of every day.

Please interact in the comments below. I’d love to hear your thoughts and responses.

God bless you.

Jennifer – I Give God All The Glory

I am a daughter of God, a servant of the Lord, a wife to a patient husband, and a mama of two forgiving boys. God has placed these three men in my life needfully so. I thank Him for them everyday. And like so many of the Lord’s children, I am a work-of-glory-in-progress. I am on a journey to reclaim and renew my life in Christ. It took me 34 years to learn that when nothing else works, God does!

Posted in Bible, Forgiveness, God, Hope, Inspire, Jesus, Judgement, Lost, Sin, Wisdom
6 comments on “Watered Down Mediocre Christianity And Christian Lives Marked By Sin
  1. MissyB says:

    Amen! Glad to see I am not alone. God bless!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks for commenting Missy. It is reassuring know God is with us always but here in the flesh we can feel alone. Especially, when we’re surrounded by insincerity. Searching for Truth or light shining tends to be a lonely job. May His Bride rise up united in one body to glorify and imitate Christ in all things.
      God bless.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. realchange4u says:

    Jennifer I just posted a article around this very topic today. I appreciate your passion for God’s Holy word and for the saints he has called to be his own. This is right exactly where I am coming from. I will reblog this on my page if you do not mind. Lifting myself and others to Christ.

    much love Tom

    Liked by 1 person

    • Praise God! I can’t tell you how much I adore unison within the body of Christ! I will head over to your blog now and read what heart thoughts you shared on this topic as well. Please feel free to reblog anything you find here. We’re all here to help and build one another up.
      All blessings in Him! God bless you!
      Jennifer

      Liked by 1 person

  3. realchange4u says:

    Reblogged this on realchange4u and commented:
    This both a timely post and much needed post. It took great courage and the love of mankind to post this. I appreciate your willingness to stand for what is right Jennifer and for caring so much. I enjoyed this read so much, though with a heavy heart.

    much love Tom

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

